You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Motorcycle Travel Series by @velimir 'The Prison Restaurant' (Part #208)

in #motorcycle6 years ago (edited)

That's an interesting concept - a jail like that one!
I always wondered about the role of prison in regard to criminal and the aim of imprisonment. On one hand there are dangerous people who should of course be separated from society, at least for the time being - but traditional prisons are such hard and cruel places that anyone entering one of them will most probably get back to society just to do heavier crimes - that's what he learned about from other inmates during the boring hours and days of sitting without productive activity at prison and that way of life, especially for those sentenced for many years, chips and roughens a man conscience so that we can't really expect much more of him.
I do want to believe in rehabilitative prison, but I would have to see research literature on order to check whether it is really beneficial and I guess that such method will not be applicable in all cases (like in this famous case here where the Norwegian authorities, even though their method is rehabilitive, had to use special methods to keep this fella in for life https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anders_Behring_Breivik)
But generally - I do support any feasible kind of incorporation of rehabilitive and educational imprisonment - the current method surely doesn't work and only makes things worse. I guess that there should be different types of jail for different types of crimes and persons, according to their history, an assessment of a psychologist/ psychiatrist/ social worker etc...

The second picture my favorite - the fire that burns merrily in warm and pleasant red in the confined borders of the stove gives me the feeling of the place's purpose - to imprisonment, but yet- to try to fix and advance the inmates to a better future.

Sort:  

Yes...well there are people, and there are people... as I said. I doubt these guys would let violent people work in the restaurant. :)

I'm sure they wouldn't :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59123.43
ETH 2988.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75