Motorcycling

in #motorcycle6 years ago

I did some of that this weekend! I rode a Honda Goldwing for the first, and quite possibly last time yesterday. It's a 1993 Goldwing, with a 1500cc engine size and a dry weight of about 807 pounds. For comparison, the motorcycle I own (but haven't ridden in far too long) has an engine size of 700cc, and has a dry weight of 494 pounds. I definitely got some comments about how large the bike was, especially in comparison to me. I also got invited to a biker-friendly bar in town, which was nice!

I rode in to Saxapahaw (nearly an hour away) for a farmer's market / concert event, which seemed pretty nice. There was a local bluegrass band from Chapel Hill, and local ice cream from Maple View, plus two food trucks, another table with food, beer, and vendors with various fruits, veggies, non-edible plants, and other wares. I didn't think that many people lived in Saxapahaw, but there was a really big turnout.

Overall, I rate the Honda Goldwing a good motorcycle, but too large for me unless I'm riding with other people who can help me pick it back up if it falls over. The ride was smooth, in town and on highways, and it was super comfy. It was mostly a good fit, but I would like it more if I had a better foothold when stopped. Until I get better at low-speed maneuvering, I'm unlikely to seek out a bike of this size for myself.

Tip: The key to not falling over at a stop is to make sure the front tire is square (entirely straight-facing), which is how I tend to goof up. Thankfully, there have always been folks willing to help me lift it back up each time, and there's been no damage to any bikes.

Sort:  

nice bit, I'd recommend adding some photos to catch people's eye!

Hey lady rider! Dude, the fact that you a rode a Godwing is something to be proud of! I can’t even imaging trying to turn the that beast around. I’m on a bmw 650 gs - and even that’s a little tall for me. I sat on an Indian scout the other day...and now I can’t stop thinking about it. So low!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62780.02
ETH 2945.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62