Motorcycle Travel Series by @velimir 'The Night Ride' (Part #210)

in #motorcycle6 years ago (edited)

The Night Ride

crta.png

Dusk remains in my rearview mirror, as I ride into the night. Immediately after the sun sets, one feels cold. The rule of the thumb is that the faster you ride, the colder it feels. The air propulsion drains heat from the rider. Soon, the only thing adding a little warmth is the engine. On a chopper, you'll feel it on the inner side of your calfs.

Night riding can be dangerous. The motorcycle lights are often not strong enough to light the curves well. The angle is narrow and rider must carefully ride through them. For a long time now, I've been planning to add two additional smaller front lights for widening the visibility angle, but never got to it. A note to self - Velimir... the front lights, go to Bojan's workshop, he'll mount them for you.

The small roads are poorly lit and, regardless of the winter riding gear, the cold gets right through me. I stop by a ghost house to pull out an extra jumper which usually travels with me in the backpack. It is a good advice always to pack one just in case. The place looks dark and scary and I am surprised it is visible at all in the photo.

Two guys on a tractor stop to ask me if I need help. Them stopping worried me, but I was relieved when they expressed good intentions. Riding tiny roads alone, especially in the night may prove to be more than an adventure. I move on to stop again at the railway crossing in the middle of nowhere. It is completely dark.

The thick jumper did the trick. I can ride faster now. I mean, regarding the cold. The road is still narrow and curvy. After overtaking a truck, I found myself in a careless situation facing a driver coming from the opposite direction. A little more throttle from the powerful engine and all is good. That wasn't smart. Several kilometres further, I park and take out the camera, when the same truck passes by. Absolutely no use from the dangerous overtake... Seldom there is one, really.

The distance to cover is still some 70-80km. No use of my rule not to ride highways. I change my direction and ride straight to the highway's entrance. It will be faster and much safer riding straight. Highways were built for a reason and night catching you on a road is definitely a valid one. The decision has been made. Save me, o bright, wide highway, me, your humble night rider... :-)

Enjoy your day! :-)



©2018 Velimir Kovačić All rights reserved.



All images and text published in this post are my original work. I encourage everyone to use own texts, thoughts and images as much as possible. Be yourself and stay yourself. This is a proper way to build steemit.com. I do not have respect for dishonest authors. Also, bloggers actually DO matter!





• For good, inspirational read on various subjects follow: @gavvet
• For crypto news, follow always up-to-date @kingscrown 's blog on the subject.
• I really like to read @vcelier 's life story!
@ezzy writes awesome stories :)
• If you want to laugh away enjoy @meesterboom 's posts full of brisk humour and positive attitude!
• I suggest a visit to @adsactly society's blog if you feel like reading hi-quality posts about many themes daily provided by ADSactly society members!



• Vote @thecryptodrive @reggaemuffin and @adsactly-witness for your witnesses in the Witness Parliament. They are kind people who will represent you well.

I'd like to extend my gratitude to everyone who continuously supports both of my ongoing projects (Motorcycle Travel Series and Art Photography Series). Big thank you for enjoying the content and appreciating my effort. This is what steemit.com is meant to be about.





I am a member of the @buildteam crew, innovative creators of @minnowbooster @steemvoter and @steemsports blockchain projects.
Go Buildteam

The @adsactly society is a meeting point for free thinking individuals who want to cooperate. It is a welcome addition to Steemit.com community. Feel free to ask about it.



Go Adsactly


The @adsactly society Discord channel is here: ADSactly You are welcome to join!

Sort:  

interesting :D

Velimir, I have a question. What about the service and oil change of your bike :p

Hello @velimir. I saw that you have more than 5,000 followers. What would be your suggestion to attract more followers? Even if I did put a lot of work in what I posted, because I don't have followers , my post from yesterday went unnoticed. When you started, what did you do to attract followers? Any answer that can help me is appreciated. With friendship, Krystine.

Never ever give up. I was running my blog even when my payouts were tiny. The worst thing to do is quit. This is a game of persistence and quality content. People give up because they don't realize the huge amount of effort comes way before the rewards. Sooner or later, if the content is good, someone will notice you and keep you up. Good thoughts, as well. Negative emotions never get anyone anywhere. Also, make long, meaningful comments. People notice you that way in the beggining. Some guys I know make majority of their income by commenting. Cheers!

Thank you for your answer @velimir. I just started and your advice helps me more than you think. I think you are right, I have to be patient. I will continue posting content and pictures that characterize me. I really appreciate the fact that you answered me.

sir @velimir it was really a great comment i feel more confident now , after reading your comment it is really help full thanks

Good day how are you, I know the question is not for me, but @velimir, is right is not easy to start in this great family Steemit but you have to be consistent, do not give up, look for example I get up all the mornings at 3 am I try to review first the publications of the staff that I follow, to support them with my vote or comment their publications, then at 7 am I leave and I get ready to work, here you learn a lot but you have to read and have patience, is my humble advice, you have another follower, I just followed you is the way I can support you

Thank you @esquinacreativa. I appreciate your response and the fact that you have become one of my followers. I took the time to look at your page and saw that you post interesting things. I'll follow you too. As for me, I still have a lot to learn, especially from those who have more experience than me. That's why I thank you for your answer, at this moment any advice can help me.

I use to or will I say, still feel the same way, but you jusg need to put hour mind off and take it as a hobby to post the right and authentic post...you dont need to worry bout your followers, the right people and people that matters will definitely come, and thats what my driving force is...keep doing what you love best, be persistence as @velimir has said, never for one day think of giving up. Great minds didnt just make it in a day, @velimir didnt just get 5k followers in a month...your lovely and originality will attract the right people...ciao!

Today I received a lot of positive energy through the beautiful words written by you and other members. It's good to know that I find people willing to help me when I need it. Thank you @sparklez.

Thanks dearie, with words like, I also encourage myself, knowing that am not in this alone, many people to go through what am facing, so I dont let it get to me...and you @krystine will definitely scale through. I will celebrate with you when you hit your 1k followers and more...cheers to that!

Thank you @sparklez. With such determination, there is no doubt that you will also get where you want it. Cheers!

it looks like mysterious ways .. when you look from here. you are a courageous driver!
I love the mood in the photos you share. it's complicated and makes you think!
I like your share. take care of yourself ! nice roads ..

I am @earnmoresteem and you got a 5.88% upvote courtesy of @malonmar! I invite you to send SBD with other post in memo and I will upvote you this new post.

motor drive passion and freedom. The head helmet must definitely hang. Thank you for taking us step by step on your journey. Write me a blog to travel.

Great post. Really glad about the magic of the jumper.
@velimir, i know you are experienced already at riding a motor bike even more than every steemian :) At night, there is a reason why @velimir hardly rides his bike on a non busy road. For those of us that look up to @velimir in trying to bike, Its also good that while riding at night, you all should be careful, Motorcycle lights in a sea of lights at night can get lost in someone's mirrors. Just like an experience i had few months ago with a biker, It was a near miss because his bike lights are close together and i mistook his two headlight motorcycle for a car, but much further away than he really was.
So @velimir i am in no place to give an advice to you on how to pimp your admirable bike, but when you finally go to see Bojan, just be careful on adding the lights because there are many inexperienced drivers out there like i was few months ago :)
On a busy freeway, your bike may get lost against the glare of other car's lights. You might even be mistaken for the right headlight of the car behind you in a quick glance in a mirror.
As during the daylight, i am not looking for motorcycles. Motorcycles don't present as a clear danger to my mortality, at least as much as a 18 wheel semi truck does :) People just aren't scared of motorcycles while encased in their cage. At night, i am really not looking for you and may just not see you at all and God help the biker that the vehicle driver is not drunk because at night is the time most drivers are drunk and if anything happens, less people are around to help if you have an accident (i dont wish that for any of us :)) or have a mechanical failure.
So guys lets be careful while riding. @velimir keep being safe. This is educating. Thanks.

Wow!Amazing post. Motorcycle Travel is very nice @velimir

That's pretty awesome.Upvoted and resteemed done

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94