Multi-Sport Fun From A Motorcycle

in #motorcycles8 years ago (edited)

GitHub Logo

Back on a Motorcycle!
I finally got back on a motorcycle in 2012. It had been about a 20 year layoff due to family responsibilities and lack of cash. My wife had never been opposed to me having one so when I was looking around at the Honda dealership and saw the CBR125RR for under $4000, I thought, "this is my chance". I pitched her based on the fact that this bike would practically pay for itself in savings on gas alone! Insurance for under $30 a month and getting between 80 and 100 miles per gallon (depending on how I drive) is pretty good.

Gutless but Fun
You don't get a lot of power out of a one cylinder, 125 cc motor. It would take about 14 of my motorcycle's engines to equal a Toyota Corolla. But I can still go on the highway, often hit 75 miles (120 kph), I just have to gear down when going up a steep hill or into a strong headwind.

Combining sports/activities
Riding a motorcycle is fun but it is even better when you combine it with other activities. A week before Father's day, my wife said' "why don't you get away for the day?". So I did. Backpack, sleeping back, tent and I was away. All I had to buy was a few bungee chords. I was only staying over night so I brought minimal food and water. I went out to eat for dinner so I did not need to bring much in the way of food.

Photography
I went to Six Mile Lake Provincial Park in Ontario, Canada so it was a good chance to mess around with my Canon Rebel Camera. I had fun taking pictures of nature and learning some more advanced features of my camera.

Running
You can ride your motorcycle a trail or other favorite running destination, throw your extra gear in a backpack and you are good to go. My Six Mile Lake trip was my opportunity to start running again after a layoff for a few years. I fired up my Srava app and ran 1 kilometer since I was not in shape for much more.

Swimming
Before heading home the next day to join in the father's day celebrations I went for a dip in the lake. It had been pretty hot so it was good to cool off before the 45 min ride home.

So there you have it. Running, camping , swimming and photography from one of the smallest motorcycles going. Imagine what you could do with a bigger motorcycle and saddle bags!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62875.98
ETH 2948.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55