Motorcycle Travel Series by @velimir 'Riding steep downhill curves' (Part #191)

in #motorcycles6 years ago

I'm riding down the hill. This is probably the most difficult of regular street techniques to grasp, especially to the ones who are just beginning their indulgence in pleasures of riding a motorcycle. In a car, one would shift to the low gear and easily control the speed that way, without much of a fuss. On a bike, isn't that simple because it has (check out the miracle) two wheels and therefore the speed is also dictating your lean angle, thus your exit direction.

So, if there is any doubt about riding very angled downward bends, switching to the low gear (first if seriously steep) and using "engine braking" is a must because breaking in a curve might easily result in a fall, especially in winter conditions. I'm not stating known facts, like adding throttle when exiting or shifting weight to the back wheel and such...

Also, riding down the hill in higher gears and constantly breaking is very likely to burn your break plates. Then, unless you don't feel weird riding the city and sounding like a squeaking beauty, you'll need to find a nearby workshop... asap :D

Sometimes, the beauty around me makes it difficult to watch the road the entire time. In these moments it's best to stop, enjoy the view and the continue the ride when you're done. Watching sights and enjoying nature while riding a downhill path is quite far from a good idea.

The nice curvy hill road ends and I venture into a plain area. A post with a sign "Labyrinths" catches my attention and, as there is no power to stop my curiosity, I take a left turn and take a direction to the north.

To be continued... Tomorrow! :-)

Enjoy your day! :-)



©2017 Velimir Kovačić All rights reserved.



All images and text published in this post are my original work. I encourage everyone to use own texts, thoughts and images as much as possible. Be yourself and stay yourself. This is a proper way to build steemit.com. I do not have respect for dishonest authors. Also, bloggers actually DO matter!





• For good, inspirational read on various subjects follow: @gavvet
• For crypto news, follow always up-to-date @kingscrown 's blog on the subject.
• I really like to read @vcelier 's life story!
• If you want to laugh away enjoy @meesterboom 's posts full of brisk humour and positive attitude!
• I suggest a visit to @adsactly society's blog if you feel like reading hi-quality posts!



• Vote @thecryptodrive @reggaemuffin and @adsactly-witness for your witnesses in the Witness Parliament. They are kind people who will represent you well.

I'd like to extend my gratitude to everyone who continuously supports both of my ongoing projects (Motorcycle Travel Series and Art Photography Series). Big thank you for enjoying the content and appreciating my effort. This is what steemit.com is meant to be about.





I am a member of the @buildteam crew, innovative creators of @minnowbooster @steemvoter and @steemsports blockchain projects.
Go Buildteam

The @adsactly society is a meeting point for free thinking individuals who want to cooperate. It is a welcome addition to Steemit.com community. Feel free to ask about it.



Go Adsactly


The @adsactly society Discord channel is here: ADSactly You are welcome to join!

Sort:  

Beautiful one @velimir. You are a skilled writer. I totally understood your mindset and the angles you came from. It was easy to comprehend with the humour.
I really love the woods. I could only imagine how sound fades in the woods, making trees a popular natural noise barrier. The muffling effect is largely due to rustling leaves — plus other woodland white noise, like bird songs — and just a few well-placed trees can cut background sound by 5 to 10 decibels, or about 50 percent as heard by human ears. Its would have been refreshing to ride past the woods. But i can just imagine. Too bad people don't see anything but $ when they see trees. Here where i live, it looks like a war torn area. Things deterioate and deterioate. Where's the pierra club? Why can't they select cut? Our state will be a state of Pines instead of Black Walnut, Maple, Pecans, Hickory's. Water run off is awful during rains, animals are displaced. Do people ever think before they destroy?
Very unfortunate loss for so many at the gain of a few who are taking advantage of the opportunity to make quick easy money. I must say that you have a great environment around you and i am glad you explore it from time to time.
But getting back to the post, i have a question to ask @velimir
I dont know if you know much about cycling, but When riding a bike, is it more efficient to pedal more slowly while using more strength per push, or faster with an easier gear?
Thanks. Its also open to any other friend here to talk about. :)

I dont think @velimir is much into cycling :) He has a nice and cool bike. I will upgrade to his level soon :)
Really is finding that perfect balance. Slower revs at higher power (it helps to have a power meter when you do this) and a lower heart rate will tend to burn your legs out much more quickly than a higher cadence at lower power and higher heart rate. How where exactly this balance is can be very different for different people. Also a lot depends upon how much load your heart can take before burning that out as well. Another huge piece is how far and how long you have to ride. You will find that your heart can take a long, sustained effort better than your legs in most cases, so I usually opt for a higher cadence, higher heart rate with a little less power. However, if I need a short burst of speed, I will go to that higher gear and let me cadence drop to increase the power, but only for as long as I need to. I ride between 5000 and 7500 miles a year out in Colorado where we have a few rather large hills and have found over time that a higher cadence works much better for letting me ride longer rides, especially when going uphill. So this is what i think

Depends on the gradient too. (:

But i realise no matter how much brute force you pedal your bike, if your bike's gears are not optimized for the path, you will be lacking behind those whose gears are.
So having better gears in a bike improves speed and definitely, way more efficient.

Very nice comment there.
I can't really speak to efficiency, but I know that if you constantly mash higher gears, your knees will eventually complain quite bitterly (even permanently). Some riders seem to do well at a lower rpm, and their physiology can tolerate it, but in general your best bet is to spin between 90-120 rpm.

Hahaha guys, you are right, Velimir is not much into cycling anymore. I did my share of pedalling but not anymore. What makes me think... what if...mmm? ;)
Thank you for this awesome advice for cycling, I am sure many will appreciate! :)

Most people say it's easier to go downhill while it's not.

You really need to have the right control on your machine and should know how to use engine braking in your favor at the time of need.

Back in 2013 I was riding down from a high altitude mountain pass and was relying too much on rear brakes. Next moment I find the rear wheel chocked and Im left with no option apart from banging the bike on mountain. Glad it stopped and we realized it all happened cos the brake pads became really hot and the plate got bent.

I was lucky but not everyone will be.

Thank for sharing, my friend. Yes, no breaking really, much safer keeping it in first gear if need be.

True staying in lower gear helps

Hi @velimir,

As the title suggests

Riding steep downhill curves' (Part #191)

I would like to say that they way you are enjoying the life is really beautiful. Road trip or trip to hill station on bike is something adventurous souls want all the time.

You shared one picture which has a very deep meaning hidden in it. This pictures reminds me a TV Drama Series Alpha Bravo Charlie i used to watch during my childhood days.

This is the best caption of this beautiful scene;

Sometimes, the beauty around me makes it difficult to watch the road the entire time. In these moments it's best to stop, enjoy the view and the continue the ride when you're done. Watching sights and enjoying nature while riding a downhill path is quite far from a good idea.

I am really looking forward to catch you up for the next episode of this beautiful trip.

Ride Safe :)

@velimir, well written and photography is awesome.
@salmanbukhari54, nice comment, keep it up.
upvoted

you have another sunny day and photos that warm my soul in such a cold season (I have a temperature of -17 ° C)
you gave excellent advice on the passage of strong descents of road bends, engine braking.
We are looking forward to the continuation, thanks :)

ups that's freezing cold...stay at home, my friend :)

Thanks for the marvelous photos! I really like the photo with the standing trees - I started looking on the photo with my focus on them and it looked like some kind of an infinite forest - they fill the whole of the horizon :) but then I noticed the blackness of the road and realized it must be much less extensive than I thought :)

I never rode a motorcycle - but it does look fun and also dangerous, be safe please at those steep angled roads! keep taking pictures for us lol, but do it carefully :)

I thought of posting that pic on the art series blog. :D

You should try but careful at first :)

Hey, @velimir, This is an amazing series. I am really enjoying this.
All these pictures are just awesome.
Thanks for sharing.

what a beautiful road @velimir!you are enjoying your journey very much.I am just predicting that you will celeberate New year with your motorcycle..Wish you a very Happy new year in advance.nice post.

hahaha maybe :)

Tips that are very helpful for beginners like me. Read your article really I want to ride a motorcycle bike. Exclamation exciting and fun
Articles like these I'm looking for, exciting and useful for readers. I look forward to the latest articles from you.

Very good post @velimir, it seems that you really enjoy with your trip and when I see your post almost everything you share about your journey, thank you for sharing, I will wait for your next posting, greeting friendship for all friends steemit

I find your bike very fascinating. Hope I won't dream about riding it tonight lol.

Thanks for sharing this with us

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59179.00
ETH 2969.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75