Mountain biking Downieville, California

in #mountainbike6 years ago

Hello all, this is my ride from this morning in Downieville, California. Here is a shot of the town, you blink and you have past it, it is that small.
store.jpg

I drove up from San Jose this morning, about 4 hours on the road.
map.jpg

I took a shuttle up to the top of packer saddle campsite. The ride was 17 miles and 550 ft of climbing. Some of it hike a bike as there are some steep technical climbs in 85* f weather. It's similar to Lake Tahoe which is not too far away.
strava.jpg

GPS data uploaded to Strava. (I'll be camping, so not much Internet connection for me. I'm writing this at the shuttle bike shop/cafe. Downieville Outfitters)
data.jpg

The town in one shot.
town.jpg

The trail can get pretty gnarly and steep at times, lots of rocks, roots and ruts to test your bike suspension.
trail.jpg

The bridge over the Yuba river.
bridge.jpg

The shuttle service has a bike washing station b/c it's really dusted out after your ride.
bikewash.jpg

Sort:  

The small looks like one that stood still over the years

Yup, like I went bqck to the 1800s

I enjoy a lot and I know about your trips and your post, thanks for sharing it with me, if it's very small but very nice, the road looks strong but you have good preparation and your bike is spectacular, that's why you do perfectly well the routes even if the roads have rocks, I admire your physical condition, it's spectacular @glennolua.

Hi, thanks for the complements. I try to stay in shape, mostly by cycling...

You got a 2.80% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @glennolua!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99