You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ulog 23: Not-so-serious Bagging! Two lovely Corbetts in the Orchy hills

in #mountains6 years ago

So I have to ask, are these names given the terrain with regard to height a Scotland thing, ie; Munro, Corbett and Graham etc, or are those internationally recognized names for such heights?
I am not a rock climber so I don't have clue when it comes to things like this. I do enjoy seeing the pictures, lovely scenery for sure. Just figure that I need to understand the terminology a little better so I can keep up with it.

Sort:  

Munros, Corbetts and Grahams only apply to Scotland. To make things even more confusing there are also Hughs and Donalds - I'm not even sure what their definition is about, but they are all named after the people who thought them up.
In England there are Wainwrights, Birketts, and Nuttals, and Furths and Hewitts are found in England and Ireland. And there are loads of others, including Marilyns, which denotes any hill of 150m or higher (named as a contrast to the Munros, because Marilyn Monroe, geddit?). There's more info here. I think it's all due to a weird list-building habit of the Brits. Maybe best to just look at the photos!

I sort of thought it would be specific to Scotland, I didn't want to be travelling where we have mountains and start talking Munros and having someone look at me funny. "What the hell you say old man?" is what I would be asked.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.36
ETH 3076.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81