LET KARMA - MOVIE REVIEW

in #movie5 years ago


image
source

This is the first nollywood movie I'll be reviewing. It was directed and produced in my country. I'm safe to say it's a Nigerian movie since the actors are all from there. I won't be biased in my review though. The fact that I don't review nollywood movies is because I don't find most of them intriguing. I would definitely see a lot of things wrong with them. I never planned to see this movie, but I did. I had to be in the cinemas at that time. Was it worth it? Honestly, I can't say yes. The movie got me interested at the very beginning. I wanted to know what would happen after every scene. I'm giving them an A there. The suspense was lit. Aside this, they got everything wrong.

I had to find out what Karma really means because I didn't really see it play in the movie. After a lot of research, I concluded it's something good or bad as a result of one's actions. Going with this definition, they were right. They can as well say the law of Karma happened in the movie. But, the whole idea of Karma is reaping what you sow or getting what you give. Let's say you were cruel to someone just because you didn't like him or her. You might find yourself in a situation where someone will be cruel to you because he or she didn't like you. That's the law of karma. It's not necessarily the same punishment, but what you do to others will be done to you.

Let Karma is the story of three friends. Two were married, while the other one was single. The married guys cheated on their wives. One was a big player; he had records of all the girls he'd slept with, while the other had just a concubine. At the end of the day, the wives found out. The one with one concubine later moved on with his wife. She forgave him. The player couldn't get his wife back. He almost died. One of the women he slept with had a boyfriend that would kill for anything. Let's say he was lucky he didn't die. And that's it! The movie ended. Then I started wondering if they were playing with my intelligence. Was that karma?

Going with that, it means whenever I cheat with my wife or fiance, she will definitely leave me when she finds out. So therefore, the law of karma happened. The movie would have been better if the player's wife cheated on him while he was on a wheelchair. I was expecting that when I found out he didn't die. He couldn't even walk. His wife had to leave him to fend for himself. The player later died though, but I refuse to believe it's karma.

Title of a movie plays an important role, and it seemed they never took it serious here. When I experience what I do to people, then I'm safe to say it's the law of karma. But when I get punished for doing something awful, it's debatable. Anyway, you can choose to watch this and drop your views below. If you have seen it, let's discuss. Perhaps, someone can convince me the happenings in the movie was karma.

Until we meet next time...


@afolwalex writes.


Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi @afolwalex!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.578 which ranks you at #15692 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 208 contributions, your post is ranked at #192.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97