Baby Driver movie review: It leaves the Fast & Furious movies biting the dust

in #movie6 years ago

Baby Driver (2017)

1.jpg

Source

I haven't had fond memories of my birthday since I was ten, at the very least. Sure, some in between the period of then and now were fun (with only the last two years being something I don't want to think about but still do ((if you're close to me, you'll know why)) ), but I can't remember the last time I remembered having a birthday I was not only looking forward to, but enjoyed on the same level as I did when I was a child......

That all changed when Edgar Wright, for bringing that joy back at full force.

"Baby Driver" is one part "Grand Theft Auto" style action, one part "Blues Brothers" style Juice Box musical, "Thief" but Funny, "La La Land" style colors and choreography but with more violence (the best way to improve any movie, really), and all Wright.

2.jpg

Source

All my worries about it being a big disappointment simply flew away the moment the first car chase began. I can't remember the last time I smiled this hard walking out of something nor the last time I was completely glued to the screen from minute one.

There's not a single blank spot in the entire film, nor there is one that isn't either charming, funny, thrilling, intense, brilliantly directed, edited, or written. This was Edgar Wright's passion project and it fucking shows with full force.

It's not nearly as humorous as his previous works, but it doesn't try to be either. And when it is funny, it's absolutely hilarious. Everybody is amazing (For those walking into this expecting Spacey to steal the show, keep your eyes on Foxx and Hamm), with pitch perfect delivery. I don't think gun fights will look and sound this good in the next few years (P.S: Fuck you, "Free Fire").

3.jpg

Source

By the way, you know how I often talk about how important the usage of music can be to not only make a scene better but have a lot more impact? Well, Edgar Wright not only proves this point, he down right perfected it.

Song after song, beat after beat, lyric after lyric, everything seamlessly matches with the images and editing on display to the point where the fucking ACTION SCENES could be hummed.

4.jpg

Source

I cried from happiness as soon as this movie was over (when I wasn't busy crying in general), because I was so scarred. I was so worried when I saw the first trailer and figured that I wouldn't buy into the hype train and dismiss it as another mediocre throw away in my mind. Fuck you, Past me!

My goal in life now is to make something as exciting, funny, genuinely emotional and perfectly put together as "Baby Drive", even if I know that will probably never happen.

We need more movies like this and we need them now.

To close this off, all I can add is.....thank you, Edgar Wright, for the best birthday present ever....

5.jpg

Trailer

Sort:  

Congratulations @charliemovietime! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62549.96
ETH 3022.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67