Homeless F@#KS!

in #movie6 years ago

Here's another short nugget from my adventures working in the film business.

One of the first projects I worked on was a little movie called In The Shadows: Someone's Watching. It was a forgettable made for-TV feature starring Joan Van Aark (Knots Landing), Daniel J. Travanti (Hill Street Blues), Christopher Noth (well before Sex and the City) and Rick Springfield (you remember he was an actor, too, right?).

While working on this low budget show, one evening I was sent out for second meal. Second meal is actually the third time a crew is fed on a day that’s running long. We were given breakfast when we arrived, lunch/dinner six hours into the shoot and if we ran six hours more, another meal would be provided. Generally, films try to avoid it for this very reason (and the fact that it often necessitates starting later the following day to afford everyone a full night’s sleep).

homless.jpg

With little time to prepare for this late meal, I was sent to McDonald’s with a couple hundred dollars to get an assortment of food. By the time I returned to set, the day had wrapped (everyone had gone home) and I had a car stinking with a few dozen bags of fast food that was now destined to go to waste. Someone had the stellar idea that I give to the homeless. As I was staying in Venice, I actually knew there were plenty of homeless people in that area and despite being exhausted from the long day, I agreed to undertake said humanitarian deed.

A while later, I was walking Venice Beach around midnight with my arms full of still-warm McDonald’s yumminess. For some reason, on this particular night, I had a hard time finding where the L.A. downtrodden were malingering. I finally saw a small group of four men who were clearly my target audience for the night. I approached them with my bounty and relayed their good fortune for the evening, offering almost limitless cheeseburgers and chicken nuggets.

An unusual silence lingered after making my offer. Finally, the leader of the group (or at least the only one who deemed me worthy of a response) replied with, “Well, we're not interested. We're all vegetarians.” No bullshit. That was his reaction. Not even a “Thanks, but no thanks,” almost as though I'd tortured and killed chicken in his name to offer his group this evil feast. And as though I wasn't feeling belittled enough, the fucking guy added insult to injury with, “Do you have any salads?” Seriously. The fucker said that!

homless2.jpg

Without a word, I expeditiously deposited the uneaten buffet in the nearby trash cans. If I'd had rope, a baseball bat and gasoline in my car, I might have gone all Fisher King on their ungrateful asses, but I didn't and, the fact of the matter was, at that particular moment, I just wanted a nap!

EPILOGUE: I've just finished a book on independent filmmaking which includes a number of interesting vignettes like the one above. "Film Schooling" will be out later this year. Please follow my Steemit account for updates on the release date!!

Sort:  

nominating you for @comedyopenmic

Check it out for round 14!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68779.72
ETH 3920.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64