You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Men in Black International Review, Have We Done This Before?

in #movie5 years ago

I've never really been much of a fan of this franchise and that MiB song that Will Smith made years ago.... ouch.

It's good to hear that the social justice stuff isn't as cringe as the trailer made it look like it would be - I wasn't going to see this one anyway (not in theaters at least) but I have to admit that the few clips that indicated it would be an SJW fest kind of made me roll my eyes during the preview - it's good to hear that it wasn't really noticeable during the film.

Despite the overall negative reviews from critics and places like Rotten Tomatoes, the film made 100 million dollars + over its budget. Therefore I think it is safe to say they will likely continue to make these :)

Sort:  

They truly messed up making a point of having this film appear to be a SJW fest in the trailers as that turned off a lot of people. Myself included. I wanted to support it in theaters but around here with the time I work a full time job, it was just not possible to catch any cheap viewings. That meant dropping $12 to see it and that was just too much for me at the time it was in theaters.

I watched it on Vudu and used a $6 rental credit I had available from catching one of their specials (watch one of these free movies from this six and get a $6 rental credit). They have them regularly, sometimes it is a $3 general purchase credit as well.

Hyperfocusing on the SJW stuff I can see it now but don't remember it being nearly that bad in the movie. Sure, you got Hemsworth playing a ditz but come on, how many times have blondes worn that membership jacket in cinema? His bungling was not nearly as pronounced as I thought it would be and it is given a somewhat vague explanation in the movie that you have to pay attention to catch. It wasn't just him being a ditz, there was a reason for it.

Molly gets a lot of those "eye moving" opportunities and is generally played as the better agent but it makes sense - she spent 23 years to get here, training, preparing for anything and everything. I was just not impressed with her lack of awe at the situation - at least Smith nailed that in the first movie. Once he saw how deep he was, you could see his face change and his attitude adjusted a bit. We didn't get that with Molly, we got more of a "I was right attitude" and "I deserve to be here". It is not over the top but it is clear that is how she thinks for most of the movie.

Not a deal breaker at all mainly because they did gloss over her working hard to get there. I guess I would have a similar reaction if I spent that long looking for something and found out it was real and I was involved now.

I watched reviews, read reviews, etc for MiB International and they generally turned me off of the movie. I was excited for this one but after a few reviews, I didn't care anymore. I rented it on a whim - this or the new Godzilla movie and I had just spent most of the weekend watching a marathon on a local channel.

It is a shame for fans of the MiB universe though. The ones that will skip this because of the reviews. I am one of those that almost skipped it for good. The movie is not nearly as bad as people make it out to be. I enjoyed it a hell of a lot more than the second and third ones if that tells anyone anything.

I just hope this is not a Terminator: Genesys event. One where we only get this entry because a major actor/actress in it decides this is not for her so the franchise has to reboot again somehow. I think they have a good foundation going here, especially with the ending they went with that could lead to connections to other films, not just the MiB universe (and considering MiB is a Malibu/Marvel comic property...).

Oh, almost forgot, that rap song with Smith. I agree, it was bad. What made it worse was every radio station played the hell out of it.

dude that is one of the most fantastic responses i have ever read on Steemit. you rock! I never upvote comments anymore but i felt compelled to do so even if i am throwing my SP out the window. Well done!

Thank you, I am honored that you would bestow such a vote on my comment. Seriously, I know what you mean about the SP and such. I have also stopped upvoting comments in favor of upvoting the original content (though technically, comments are original too, just usually shorter).

Again, thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62847.73
ETH 3173.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80