🐓 Blockers | A Review

in #movie6 years ago

Hello everyone!

I hope the weekend is treating you all well. We are currently awaiting an ice storm.... even though it's supposed to be spring. Typical Canadian weather I suppose. Before I get too off topic, in this article I will be talking about a new movie I saw recently, Blockers!

20180414_133004.png

Work has been super crazy and stressful lately so I needed something to serve as a "pick me up". So the boyfriend and I decided to go and see Blockers. He wasn't super keen on seeing it, but decided to earn a few bonus points from me. Anyways, the movie was quite funny actually! I was surprised to see a lot of the audience was over the age of 60. However, there is something in it for everyone. I would say that the movie is more on the crude side of funny. I mean, it's about a group of teenage girls making a sex pact. So you can just imagine the type if shenanigans that take place throughout the movie.

The parents are played by John Cena, Leslie Mann and Ike Barinholtz. The three have a great dynamic together. John Cena definitely makes a great overbearing father and is believable as his character. I have been partial to John Cena since I saw him in Trainwreck. In this film Cena is unwilling to accept that his daughter is growing up. As for Leslie Mann, she plays her typical neurotic character which works in this movie. She is a single mom whose whole world revolves around her daughter. Ike Barinholtz's character on the other hand, is the one parent that is willing to accept his daughter venture into adulthood. Its hard to believe that his character is the one that I was most on board with, as he seemed the most sane of the three. You know, aside from him perpetually bashing his ex wife and her new husband.

The daughters are played by Kathryn Newton, Gideon Adlon, and Geraldine Viswanathan. They play three best friends who met on their first day of school. Although they all have different interests, they managed to stay friends. They each have their own issues to deal with; an overbearing father, moving away from your family, and a parents divorce. These are all things that the average teen deals with these days. They are just three girls trying to have the best prom night ever.

20180414_132336.png

What is great about this movie, and makes it relatable are the themes (I mean as relatable as a crude movie about three parents crashing there daughters prom can be). It is both a comedy targeting teens as well as comedy about parents coming to grips with their children growing up. Anyone can relate to the main themes as the movie is able to cross generations. There is something in it for everyone. In the end, I would recommend this movie to those of you who enjoy a good laugh out loud movie. You will just have to make it through a few awkward moments. I think the only issue I really had with the movie was how they were referring to the girls as millenials, which they aren't. But thats more of a personal thing... since I am millenial and we seem to have a bad reputation these days.

Have any of you seen Blockers? What did you think?

That's it for now! Take care everyone,

Jackie

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69718.72
ETH 3746.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81