Movie Review: My problem with Bird Box (2018)

in #movie5 years ago

My problem with Bird Box

Greetings to all my dear Steemians! Today I will share my opinion about the new Netflix film called Bird Box that as you know according to the bunch of memes that were generated from this movie, has the participation of the glorious actress Sandra Bullock. At first I must confess that I was not interested, however because of the bunch of memes and jokes on Instagram and Facebook, in addition to the presence of Sandra Bullock in the cast, I was finally into to see the movie and I'm going to share what I think about the film. I will summarize it in 3 points to make it easier and more dynamic.

Source

Before starting, please if you like this post, give me a super vote, comment and share it with your friends, that would help me a lot to continue publishing more content.

Obviously, it is necessary to give a spoiler alert if you have not seen the movie, please do not continue reading or do it at your own risk.

Source

1. Zero surprises

The film begins by introducing us to Malorie (Sandra Bullock) with two children (we assume they are her children at the beginning, and in the course of the film we confirmed it) trying to escape from the house they are living in, crossing a river in a boat with their eyes completely bandaged. The film then moves 5 years ago where it explains how this disaster started. After what appears to be the end of the world due to an "epidemic" that leads people to suicide and after losing her sister, a pregnant Malorie is trapped in a house with other people who is also trying to escape of the epidemic and that's where the problems start.

At the beginning we were introduced to Malorie completely alone with the two children then it is to be assumed that all of the people with whom she was in the house died, and our assumptions are true. With a duration of more than 2 hours of film, Bird Box only focuses on showing us how each of these people died and how Malorie is the only one who can survive 5 years later. No plot twists, no surprises, nothing, we know everything from the minute 1 of the movie.

2. Without explanations

From the outset, they explain that an apparent epidemic or entity has broken out and causes everyone who sees it to commit suicide. That's very good but ... what is this presence about? Are they aliens, ghosts, or what? Where did it come from? Besides, what do people see that can be so horrible as to lead them to commit suicide? These are some of the many questions that you have left at the end of the film about the antagonist or the enemy in this case. Nothing is explained about him. I could guess that this is a beginning for a sequel that would explain the origin of the entity but from this movie all we have left is that it seems to be a kind of evil wind that surrounds you and forces you to see it. It is something like the bad twin of the wind of the Rose of Guadalupe.

3. That ending

The idea of ​​the movie itself is pretty good. The morbid that generates that the protagonists can't see, it's similar to A Quiet Place where the protagonists could not make any type of sound. That concept leaves you tied to the screen watching how the protagonists can survive. However, the execution was not so good and in fact, the end was not good either. At least not for me and people who, like me, expected some plot twist or something interesting at the ending but that never happened. In the ending we simply find that the blind are the new messiah, since Malorie after crossing the river and the forest arrives at what seems to be a concentration of blind survivors ... and thats it. That is the end of Bird Box. Two hours of film to leave more questions than answers and unfortunately disappointed us.

In summary, I did not like the movie, in fact, I think most people only saw it because of the memes and I get really disappointed with the film. It did not fill my expectations. So I'll give Bird Box a 5 of 10, won just because of the concept of the film and because I love Sandra Bullock.

And you, how much do you give to this movie? Leave me in the comments all your opinions, scores or if I missed something to comment on it. Your comments are welcome.

Follow me on my social networks!

Thank you very much for reading!

Laura.

Sort:  

Congratulations @lauramillano! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66367.17
ETH 3007.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71