You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Big Sick: The Immigrant American Romance

in #movie6 years ago

When I think back to my grandparents and great grandparents in America, there was "courting" which was essentially controlled dating.

We don't like to admit it in our modern world, but sexual intimacy clouds our judgement. I wonder if that's part of the reason that "choice" marriages are not as long lasting as arranged marriages.

Just a thought ;-)

Sort:  

I definitely agree and it's an interesting topic to discuss. Marriage is in many ways a formal agreement and practical sharing of responsibilities. It makes sense that family judgement weighs in to a certain degree as well. I can't fathom how to every strike the "healthiest" balance between personal choice and family logic but absolutely interesting to talk about.

Thanks @roused!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61974.94
ETH 3126.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77