A REVIEW OF THE MOVIE "BOO A MADEA HALLOWEEN" ON THE ISSUE OF SPANKING KIDS

in #movie6 years ago


Credit 

I love Tyler Perry's movies a lot. Not only are they always very interesting and funny, they also teach real life lessons and expose some very controversial issues that people don't like to discuss. I saw this movie "Boo A Madea Halloween", one of Tyler Perry's movie, a few months ago and I'm  kinda geared up to write what I learnt from it. 

The story in this movie is primarily centered around how the discipline of kids by today's parents have gone wrong. Parents don't want to spank their kids no more because they feel we're now in the new age or 21st century like most people would say. You see, I personally feel that mentality is very disturbing. How will you suffer to give birth to your own child and just watch him or her go down the drain through his or her misbehaviour. Now the excuse is "I don't want my child to be stone hearted through spanking, I want my child to be able to talk to me freely so I don't want to scare them away through spanking". Let me take some time out to laugh small 😂😂😂

Credit

I grew up in a home where my parents tolerated no rubbish from us (the children). I received a number of spanking from them and I think it kinda reset some default naughtiness I had in me then. I dare not try doing some things; not because I was scared of my parents but because I was scared of the spanking I'ld receive afterwards. Today, I'm friends with my parents. The spanking I received from them didn't make me a worse person and didn't make me hate them (although I was angry at them those times they'll spank the hell out of me); it made me know my boundaries as a child and calmed all the unruly behavior that was trying to surface from me. 

I see so many parents trying to copy what is originally not ours (the habit of discussing with their kids when they do something wrong). I'm not saying you can't sit your child down and talk sense into him or her sometimes but that habit should not totally take the place of spanking when needed. Although, It's not every time you'll flog and spank your child like a goat at every single misbehavior so that they don't get used to the pain from the flogging.


Some of us might say; there are still some children who turn wayward even after all the spanking they receive from their parents. Yes, very true and I feel this is where the place of balance comes in. Every parent should be able to balance spanking and advising or discussion with their kids. I remember there was a day my immediate elder brother went to a party and came home all drunk. Oh Lord, we were all waiting for my dad to flog the living daylight out of his head but funny enough, my dad only sat him down and talked sense into his head. Today, my brother stays away from any sort of alcoholic drink. Well, I can't say for sure that it was the talk that got to him but I know it went a long way in shapening his mentality about alcohol. 


 As parents, we should be able to balance spanking and discussion or advising our kids. And most importantly, spanking a child shouldn't be done when angry. God help us all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61451.22
ETH 2929.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65