How to collect and maintain a quality movie and music video collection in the era of streaming

in #movie5 years ago

In the 1980's and 1990's, I collected VHS tapes. Below is a photo of what I had at the peak - just before I threw them away. By 2015, their time had long passed.

Wall of VHS.jpg

I bought movies, but mostly music video content. I used to visit a music store in Tel Aviv which sold "bootleg VHS tapes" - a rarity for this music collector. The quality was ok at best, but they were cool. Eventually, massively improved dvd versions came out and VHS tapes became obsolete.

By 2016, I was done buying physical media.

In the era of streaming, what is worth collecting as far as movies and music video content?

You don't need to keep copies of every "good" movie you see. Yes, Netflix and other services are constantly shifting movies in and out of circulation. The question to ask is:

Will I want to watch this video/music/concert at least once every year or two? By the time I hit 40, that list actually shrunk - in a good way. I won't be watching The Goonies or ET as often as I did in my teens. For me, it is the big series that I like - Marvel, Star Wars - and the classics that I grew up on - Willy Wonka & The Chocolate Factory, the Fletch movies. While I love Animal House, I've seen it too many times to count.

Pink Floyd's The Wall didn't age well. The internet kinda ruined the 1984 scenario. :)

James Bond? Yes, especially the 60's to 90's.

In an era of streaming, my "desert island movies" are more than 10 but less than 100.

Next tip - try to get the highest quality versions of the movie - up to a limit. A 35 GB version of The Wizard of Oz won't be much better than a 4 GB version - unless it has cut scenes and a documentary. 4 GB (dvd) is enough for everything until this past decade - as a rule of thumb.

Collecting movies in the era of streaming is a balancing act - what do you need? For the rest, find it on your streaming service or just watch random clips on YouTube to get the nostalgia out of your system.

One thing that is definitely over - burning movies and concerts onto physical media. While I miss those days, I was so happy to delete my last cd/dvd burning software!

Enjoy your movie collection!

Sort:  

Congratulations @treasurebeach! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 600 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

This post is very interesting (great tips!) and nostalgic. The magic of VHS tapes has to be maintained and people like you make it happen! xD


I'm sorry, but I'm trying my best to promote this: It's about a movie challenge that I've just created. This is the first time that I try to make a contest with a broader scope and I ask for your help to promote (resteem / upvote... it's optional) and participate.

Here's the link with all the infos: MOVIE CHALLENGE (#01): "An Unexpected Horror Crossover" | Announcement + First Edition.

It's all very simple, you just need to be creative. There are 10.000 STEEM on the table for prizes!

Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62352.72
ETH 2953.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62