"12 Angry Men" [Sidney Lumet, 1957] - movie review

in #moviereview5 years ago (edited)

One of those unique evergreens that no one can dislike. It is a truly minimalist movie, basically without a plot, all taking place in the same room 98% of the run-time. This is the key idea of the cinematography, the isolation from the outside world, the claustrophobia enhanced by a heatwave, which at the same time bring the jurors on their edge as the apparently clear cut case against a young man accused of killing his father, might not be as clear cut as it looks on the surface. (spoilers ahead)

2019-02-07_233050.png

The plot as it is, is just that - a defence by one juror of an apparently sure case against a murderer. He turns the other eleven over to his side one by one until the emphatic half of the room is with him, while the narcissistic and psychopathic other half fortifies themselves in their prejudice, even when the evidence and witness accounts are shread to pieces one by one.

2019-02-07_232841.png

Henry Fonda plays his role with a confident stoic character, who never trembles under the pier pressure of those who just want to get this case over with and send the boy to the electric chair as he "deserves". Fonda´s confidence inspires the other´s to hear his arguments and against all odds, even for you as a thirteenth juror as the viewer, he succeeds. The point is not really whether or not he is guilty, but rather an account of all the anonymous people in the system who has been handed an incredible responsibility and power ... and how their mentality and not least prejudice, may have huge consequences for their surroundings.

![2019-02-07_232938.png](

The genius of the story is that it is only described by the persons in the room, but you as a viewer relive and recreate the scenarios in your head and is forced to enter the mind of the jurors and be handed the same responsibility and is unable to get away from it. No other film that come to mind for me, manages to get away with this in such a vivid fashion as in 12 Angry men. It is truly a stroke of storytelling perfection.

2019-02-07_233023.png

The characters are carefully chosen to highlight very different personalities so that we feel both relief that there are some who we can identify with but at the same time some we could really get almost in a fight with as their idea of responsibility is exposed for what it really is. Fonda is an obvious hero type, but the rest of the cast is balanced so well with no one standing out particularly, while they all get their say along the way.

2019-02-07_233106.png

This is a celebration of skepticism and rigid reasoning and boy is that ever more needed than in the emo times we live in now. One reason, apart from the obvious other qualities of the direction and cinematography, is the eternal importance of the message that the protagonist carries. One hopes that cooler heads like his always prevails whenever judgment is to be passed on other individuals, where the consequences are not carried over to those who judge. Only the judge should swing the sword.

10/10

2019-02-07_233126.png

2019-02-07_233142.png

Sort:  

I am old, and I had to watch this movie twice in high school. I saw it in two different classes in different schools as we moved often. As a teen girl at the time when color tv was just coming out, I can tell you I hated it! Especially the second time lol.

Reading your review makes me think I should give it another try. I will probably be the only person to watch it three times if I do. I remember them all melting in the heat for sure. That is what I do now in Kuala Lumpur Malaysia, so maybe I will relate more.

I have this on my list now of things to do and I am interested to see how I feel about it now. Thank you for the little trip down memory lane, and big congrats on your curie. You did a very good job on the review. I see this is your niche and we need reviews here on steem for sure.

Just because someone else likes a movie does not make it wrong if you don’t ... it is a subjective endeavor which is all up to you :-)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Ha, I just reviewed Sideny Lumet's last film, which is also a masterpiece. Followed and upvoted!

What a coincidence. I have not followed Lumets carrere, his later works are not too available where I live. But Hawke and Hoffman alone should warrant quality in the movie you reviewed. Thanks for commenting, following your blog

I started to read your review and then I understand that probably this movie is good and I need to watch It. So I will come back here after watching it.
Steem on!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for being inspired and sharing. Appreciate it

Hi mandibil,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Lovely movie review you have there. I enjoyed myself and kept imagining myself in their shoes. I love your choice of pictures. Infact you really made my day with your review

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you very much, I appreciate the feedback

You are welcome

Posted using Partiko Android

benim sevdiğim tarza yakın geldi bu film ve ilgi çekiciydi okumak..
i like the post, I want to watch the movie:)

I love old movies. This one I have not watched, but the subject matter and the treatment to it sound appealing.
The first Henry Fonda movie I watched was The Golden Pond. I loved his acting. Some years later I'd go watch some of his early movies (Grapes of Wrath, Fort Apache).
Great job reviving this classic

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60463.70
ETH 2889.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59