You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Barbarian Invasions - Movie Review

in #movies5 years ago

I have stopped following Oscars long time ago when I realized that I didn't agree with many of their choices. Sometimes it was feeling like some kind of propaganda. Nowadays, I rather go through the reviews (like yours :)) and choose a movie based on them. Oscar doesn't mean anything to me anymore.

I like your review. It's honest and objective (even though you of course included your subjective opinion as well). I like that you add positive and negative opinion equally and that you are not harsh with your words.

I haven't seen this movie yet but I think I would like to see it even when I'm under 40 :)

I'm kind of avoiding foreign language movies as I feel that the movie lose a lot due to the translation. I live in Switzerland and many movies here are obviously in German. When I know the movie in English and I watch it in German, I do feel a difference. You simply can't translate some jokes properly into another language. But still, I think I will give this movie a go just to understand why you like/don't like it :)

Thank you for the review! It's been nice, detailed and valuable :)

Sort:  

Thanks for the reply. Taste is subjective. So it’s always hard to choose a film based on a review. But I agree that the Oscars tend to be political in their picks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62831.42
ETH 3123.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85