You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Final Ascent – a film review

in #movies5 years ago

Thank you! This is a fascinating story and I am truly interested in seeing it. I am a very amateur climber and to be honest, it scares the bejesus out of me. Infinite possibilities.

This man is inspiring, humble and so very dedicated to humankind. I truly thought it may very well be a depressing story, but, in fact, it seems anything but.

I am truly disappointed in the world today. Well, not all of it. :) In other times and certain cultures, elders are held in high respect and esteem. There seem to be thoughts of doddering and old in Western culture. Do they not know that huge secrets and information and wonderful stories are attached to those brains? I am ashamed to say I am from the United States in that regard. Some respect is seen, but far more disrespect is viewed through these eyes.

Upped and Steemed (Later today)

!tip

Sort:  

Thanks so much for your lovely comments @dswigle - and for the tip! I agree so much with what you say, and that's one reason I wanted to write the review. It's the kind of film that may well appear depressing at first glance, yet it's anything but. I went to it as a climbing fan, because I'd heard that this man had been a great climber - but that's just a small part of it. He has done so many great things in his life.
In a way, it wasn't just Hamish, but the audience that challenged my perceptions. Most of them seemed to be well-dressed elders, and I stupidly imagined that there would be few climbers among them (despite the fact that people of all ages climb at our local climbing centre). There was a Q&A session at the end, and many of the older people who took the mike had actually climbed with Hamish MacInnes in the past.
Many of these stereotypes come from the media, PR and advertising. We need to constantly remind ourselves that elders are people who have led long lives full of adventure :)

And in case any of these people need the reminder, it is people like Hamish the led the way and forged the path for them.

Thank you again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64449.70
ETH 3164.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87