Film Genre Superstars

in #movies6 years ago (edited)

As a filmmaker and educator I am often entertained by the views on films by young actors, filmmakers, and my students. Many of the viewpoints are quite valid and then there are the not really valid points that are so amusing. I was asked yesterday about the five primary genres of film, and what picture is best in each category. First, I was not aware of a set five primary genres but okay here was his list and my opinion of them.

DRAMA:

As drama actually shouldn't ever be a genre, since I hope most films that are not comedic are dramatic but anyway. Lacking for a lot of guidance as to what this would entail I chose this Oscar winning film for the multitude of amazing acting performances and the simplicity in which it was shot.

227x227bb.jpg
A Man For All Seasons (1966)

COMEDY:

Okay, well sure a comedy category can be had I suppose and I chose this amusing film from Frank Oz because it brings out so much humor in so many different ways.

227x227bb-2.jpg
In & Out (1997)

HORROR:

Of course, every best of list needs horror films and since I can honestly say there hasn't been a great horror film since the late 70s early 80s my pick shouldn't surprise anyone. I chose this wondrous record breaker from my youth. No other film has scared me as much or been as much of a cultural guide to the future.

227x227bb-3.jpg
Jaws (1975)

SCIENCE FICTION:

This is actually my favorite genre of film. There are so many to chose from but one does shine so far above the rest it is a no brainer to chose it. Simply put, this is the best. Period.

227x227bb-4.jpg
2001: A Space Odyssey (1968)

ACTION FILM:

Now here is where I really had to wonder. Most action films themselves are not good cinema. Sure, they are entertaining, sometimes, but plot and character development are not usually worked on. Thus, I picked this little ditty...

227x227bb-5.jpg
Mad Max: Fury Road (2015)

Now this last film is easily the most debatable of all five I picked but as with any best of list, it is just one guys opinion.

He was shocked to say the least as he had only seen one of these movies, Mad Max: Fury Road. Which, shocked me.

As always, interested in your opinion on these. If you haven't seen one or more of these I highly encourage you to go view the films.

Cheers,

EH HEH!

Sort:  

Congratulations @ehhehproductions! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @ehhehproductions to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69828.11
ETH 3825.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55