Bumblebee - 2018 - The Film Nobody Asked For - But Everyone Will Watch!

in #movies6 years ago (edited)

Holy Fucking Shit Can You Believe It!

I'm beside myself. I can barely contain it. I'm bubbling with an indescribable energy. Ahhh I know what it is. I'm going to freaking puke. I'm so sick of these films. Please - Let them rest. Give us a decade of no more and then reboot it. If ever again.

Bumtrailer2.jpg

Of all the characters they could have chosen to give us a prequel-ish story about I guess I'm glad it was Bee.

So today we were "GIFTED" the teaser trailer for the upcoming film - Titled in current trendy MINIMALIST fashion - "Bumblebee". I feel like I need to point out that this is NOT a teaser. For fuck-sakes back in my day a teaser was no longer than 20 seconds. A nibble. A piece. A sample. You want serve them just enough of the good stuff so they come running back with a quickness. You want to be able to dump your junk and move on. Giving us a trailer this long/ far away from the films release removes the mystery factor.

This shit is 2:23!! Are you fucking serious. We used to have to worry about trailers spoiling moves. Now we have to be afraid of a Teaser telling you the whole story. Fuck. How long is the full length trailer going to be? 5:00? Any one with half a brain can extrapolate the story with a decent amount of accuracy.

Bumtrailer10.jpg

I'll take a wild guess and say this scene takes place on or around page 11 of the script or the first 15 minutes of the film

Lets talk about the plot a bit. So for starters this is prequel. Yes thats right this is a Bumblebee origins story. The year is 1987. Bumblebee is hiding out in a "Small-Town-California" Junkyard. This is where he meets his angsty human companion Charlie Watson - Who just so happens to need a catalyst for her coming of age story to begin. There's a shot of a beehive within one of Bumblebee's wheel wells nodding at where he gets his name.

They even explain how / why Bumblebee speaks using song lyrics or snipits of audio from the radio. For a portion of the trailer (Film) Bumblebee is mute. There's a gag at the end involving a cassette tape where the protagonist literally says "Music can help you say what you're feeling" - She proceeds to pop the tape in to bumblebees tape deck and Rick Rolls "Never gonna Give you up" starts playing. I personally would have liked a reveal like that / the idea of Bumblebee being mute be left out of the trailer. But that's just me.

Bumtrailer8.jpg

I'm getting some "Herbie fully loaded" vibes - not Just because he's a fucking beetle and the protagonist is a woman.

As it stands right now the film is set to be released on the 21st of December 2018. I'm glad to see that the film has a starkly different tone than the past films. It seems that the over the top explosions and hyper-sexualized women have gone the way of the dodo. Or they could just be saving that for the full length trailer.

bumtrailer9.jpg

look at that - A moped means she's a badass.

Bet she'll get a chance to ride a real motorcycle one at some pivotal point in the story which coincides with a moment of emotional growth.... Yawn!


Lets Talk Numbers's

Bumtrailer1.jpg

This is the first film in the live action series that was not directed by Michael bay. Thank god. He's got his place. And for right now I'm my eyes he needs to stick to the business side of making movies. He's clearly found a winning formula.

The films budget is a surprising $102,000,000 - Yes, thats sure as shit a fuck ton of money but in comparison to its predecessors it's kind of sheepish. Collectively the films had had a budget of roughly $927 million and that brought in about $4.4 Billion. - Just those numbers alone tell you why they keep making them. - You do what works. If it isn't broken don't fix it. I'm just bored of the stuff coming out of Hollywood as of late. Well really for almost a decade. I want more original ideas.


Cast & Crew

Bumtrailer4.jpg

I see you

  • Directed by - Travis Knight - Director of Kobo And the Two Strings
  • Produced By: Spielberg and Michael Bay
  • Written by - Christina Hodson (screenplay) - Nothing of note - Writer of the upcoming "Batgirl" Film.
  • Starring - Hailee Steinfeld, Martin Short, Pamela Adlon, John Cena...
  • Director of Cinematography: Enrique Chediak - Whose credits include films like - Boiler Room- 28 Weeks Later - 127 Hours & Deep Water Horizon.

IN CLOSING

Bumtrailer6.jpg

Alright all bullshit aside - If I was 14 I would probably be super hyped up about this. But I'm not. So I'm not. Maybe I'm just bitter that I've lost some of my ability to utilize films as a means of escapism.

I've gotta say this.... This... This shit right here is the kind of shit that makes me really miss the IMDB message-boards. I lived on those things for years. It was a place I loved. It was what I did late at night when my insomnia was in full swing - Watch movies/ Trailers and discuss film theories. Loved it. Think by the time they shut down the feature I had upwards of 850 posts. I've got them saved to a hard drive somewhere - But only just my content. lol I'd love to re read what 19 year-old me thought of fight club.

Any way - I plan on talking movies more with you guys. How about some actual reviews? - Yeah I think I'll start doing that

That's all for now!
All the best.
E.


DISCLAIMER

NOTE This post is- In my eyes - Is one of the only ways you should be using content that isn't yours. The idea of sharing trailers where the post is void of comment/ journalism and or critique should not be happening on Steemit. That kind of sharing is better reserved for F***book and Reddit. I am in no way affiliated with Paramount - Viacom or any of the entities connected to this film.

All visual content used herein falls within fair use. All written content is my own._ Source for images was the trailer linked above - You can watch it on youtube by clicking here!


CHECK OUT SOME OF MY LATEST POSTS

Man. Music. Dog & God - Exclusive - Mini Doc
What's For Dinner? Recipe & Haiku
Blogitty Bloggin!! - New videos & Articles Are On The Way - Prepping For A Shoot Tomorrow!
That Face You Make When....... A Haiku - Blogitty Bloggin
Quieting Voices - Sneak Peek - A Haiku & Some Bloggin


Above Gif was created by @voronwe - Check out his page!!!

Sort:  

I don't care at all for Transformers movies, saw the first one, liked it a little. Second one, half of it, thought it was racist. Third one, didn't bother. Fourth, fifth, nope. Are we on the sixth one right now? I lost count.

The lowered budget seems pretty interesting though. I'd love to expect something different from that but they already released this 2:33 trailer so I'm guessing they're still going for the same formula again.

I actually think you should just start making blog posts that are mini-heartfelt reviews like this. I'm doing my own version of that with seasons of shows being aired on Netflix and Hulu.

Thanks for your feedback. I've lost count too lol.

Yeah Im going to make this a habit- More about the vibes / feelings the trailer / film illicit rather than giving a synopsis of what happens - Feel free to tag me in any post you want to be sure i see - I love reading stuff about films - I'll go easy on you WINK

didnt mind some of the early transformer films, but i agree with you on the long trailers, too much hype sometimes which ends up turning it into a flop... i too preferred short 1min early trailers, one at the most..
havent seen this one yet..

the first few were passable - but after 3 it got to be too much - I agree about the 1 min trailers - keep the mystery going. My favorite film experiences were when i was younger and went into a movie not knowing anything - not even having had seen a trailer.

trouble is hype to get things out quickly due to excitement an competition is the problem.

Yip, I like the direction this is going... Why not!? Give us the dope and the inside scoop, E-style!

Will do my friend - got a list of films to review - might do some as text / others as a video !!!! Thanks for the support man!

Yeah, that's bright dude! Get to the other side of the camera, occasionally! I've just completed your second challenge...Will be loaded ASAP, stay tuned!

Very interesting, thanks for sharing!

Thanks for checking out my content !

Herbie fully loaded vibes - LOL...
Looking forward to some more of these posts..

lol glad you liked it - just posted a new one!!!!

Hello @emwalker, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63410.49
ETH 3058.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99