You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What makes a movie great?

in #movies6 years ago (edited)

Great post! My favorite point of yours is:

"Social psyche is not enough to make us say we love a movie though. What's needed -in my opinion- is empathy. At the end of the day movies are just stories, so their success depends on how seamlessly it made you fall into their world, and put you in their shoes."

The disconnect from the ACADEMY+critics and general audiences continues to grow every year and lately it's seemingly more obvious than ever imo.

As much as I've enjoyed Guillermo's films in the past, I'm split on whether I want to watch The Shape of Water. But that's probably because I'm only half Mexican right? Lol.

Sort:  

hahahaha exactly! You should still hear the half of you that wants to watch though, I know I said I loved it...but I must admit I exaggerated a bit. Still is worth watching! Not often you get such beautifuly crafted whimsical tales.
And about the disconnect from the critics...I think that is slowly changing. It probably has a lot to do with the fact that most of the business is controlled by people who has been part of it for a very, very long time, leaving no room for fresh new perspectives more in line with today's world.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67863.38
ETH 3708.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65