Bright (film) - somehow, this movie kinda sucks

in #movies5 years ago

They took two things that for the most part I tend to enjoy

  1. Will Smith in an action role
  2. Elements of fantasy that almost seems like a Warcraft spinoff of sorts

They mixed it all together into what is appears to be an alternative present in Los Angeles and the movie just isn't good.

DRCtIglXcAErrFZ-900x506.jpg
source

This film came out in 2017 and like most things related to Hollywood, I didn't hear jack squat about it until i randomly encountered it on Netflix last night. I saw Will Smith in the action category and thought "well, that almost has to be good!" No, no it does not.

This thing is just a mess and would be surprised if there wasn't some sort of Razzie award waiting for them in there. The writing is terrible, the story is dumb, the comic relief comes too frequently and isn't funny. This is basically just a tired story of 2 cops that don't get along but they have to stay together because they are partners. Will Smith is excessively mean to his partner, who is the only Orc on the police squad is a lot more meek than we all would expect an orc to be.

Bright-Jakoby-Ward-Elf-Wand-Mythology.jpg
source

There are glaring inconsistencies in the film also. There are these group of elite dark-elf warriors that easily dispatch 40 gang bangers and a SWAT team, most of which were armed. Later, the same dark-elves really struggle to overpower Will Smith and his Orc pal who are presumably less trained than SWAT team or they would be on SWAT team.

While i was writing this I was chatting with a friend and he said he "loved this movie" and I have a hard time understanding that notion but I suppose there are people out there that do. I just don't understand them. Critics all but universally panned this movie, and this time I agree with them. The general public rated it slightly higher but still not very high.

I suppose this movie is visually appealing and has its moments, but with a very poor script and weak storyline I have to say that this is the most disappointing movie i have seen so far this year... don't worry, we got plenty of time left.

4 / 10


skipsies!

Sort:  

It’s strange that Will Smith signed up for this . He’s usually more selective .

I was thinking the same thing. I would imagine he read the script beforehand. i don't understand that either.

I remember this movie being incredibly hyped up, then seeing it and just being so incredibly underwhelmed.

It had a good concept, but no identity of its own and a whole lot of plot holes. It felt very much like the writers got too confident in the actors and forgot that giving good actors bad writing is still going to make a bad movie.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think this is a fantastic tl;dr ... nice one

I feel about Will Smith the same as you do for Leonardo.I have never rated him and think he should of stuck to his TV roles.

Yeah, we really weren't impressed with this one when it came out. I'm a little bit surprised that your friend loved it as well. Not sure if we watched the same film.

I mean, it didn't suck really terribly I guess like some Netflix movies (Like the Humanity Bureau with Nick Cage), but it really wasn't that good.

By the way, I'm going to just let you watch that stupid Bird Box movie and save me the trouble. I'll read the review. LOL!

Haha! Thanks... I should have guessed! I had it on auto vote and missed it. Will go back and read.

Wow you downgraded this movie so much that you gave it a score of 4/10 . I believe the director of the film does a bad job of directing and the storyline of the film does not meet up to the expectations of the market audience @gooddream

the movie is still visually appealing and it has some entertaining moments. I thought about a 3 but then i just started thinking i should completely revamp my rating system altogether.

"I was chatting with a friend and he said he "loved this movie" "

There must be something wrong with his eyes.
I like War Craft, because the graphics are great and it's a cool game.
Take a look at the pictures above, this orc looks like s....
I remember watching this movie, and constantly touching the exit button, but I made it to the end.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85