Captain Marvel (film): A good movie that I'm glad I saw

in #movies5 years ago

I don't know if you follow the news at all surrounding this film but the media was really hyping up the fact that Brie Larson made some social justice warrior comments about the press tour that annoyed a bunch of people - and I found their anger kind of acceptable. However, i find the knee-jerk reaction to Hollywood people just doing and saying dumb things almost as annoying as the original actions. People were calling for a boycott and making thousands of negative reviews on Rotten Tomatoes as a "backlash" for her comments. I just wanted to see a good movie and Marvel movies, although they tend to have quite weak storylines, are normally very entertaining in the cinema.

captain-marvel-e1542386204267.jpg
source

For more than a decade, seeing gigantic blockbuster films was not an option for me because my smaller size city in the south of Thailand very rarely featured films in English - they would have a film like this, but the entire thing would be overdubbed in Thai. I can understand Thai but the emotion in the actor's voices is totally lost when they do this. I do not watch overdubbed movies in any language because you aren't really getting the original product at all when you do this - therefore I just skipped most movies and waited for the online or Netflix release.


source

The story follows Vers (Brie Larson) who is a warrior for the Kree Empire. She is apparently an elite operative that infiltrates the number one enemy of the Kree, the Skrulls - a group of creepy looking shape-shifting aliens who can take on the look of anything that they see. The action in the initial attack is wonderful, and the movie doesn't let up from there. The fast-paced nature of this film continues almost without break although there is a bit of a dead zone with Vers having a long string of dialogue about 2/3 of the way through the film.

Vers clearly has immense power, but hasn't yet mastered it and is constantly told by her mentors that she must control her emotions. This is told in the first few minutes of the movie so no, it isn't a spoiler. The training sequences between her and "Yon-Rogg" who is played by a Jude Law that somehow managed to grow back a majority of his badly receding hair are impressive to say the least.


source

I liked the way that this film is tied into other aspects of the Marvel Universe, in particular the Avengers, which we all know was left on a bit of an exciting cliffhanger at the conclusion of Avengers: Infinity War.

I found this to be one of the more exciting of the past several Marvel films and thoroughly enjoyed it. However I am not without a bit of complaint in that I feel that Vers is a bit too powerful. She doesn't really appear to have any sort of weakness. I suppose I feel about her the same way that I feel about Thor - too strong. I never read the comic books so I have no idea what her weakness could possibly be. It just makes me feel more bad for Jeremy Renner I suppose.

Overall I would say to not get sucked into the political hype on this one because it was a very nice cinematic experience although i definitely could have done without the 4D aspect of the theater. This movie is well worth the price of admission and I believe it will be a fun ride for kids as well as adults. I can't give it the highest marks because at the end of the day it is still a Marvel film and the predictability of outcome is always something that eliminates their movies from receiving top marks.

On a scale of "Urgh!" to "Wowsers!" I give Captain Marvel a score of


"Yip-Yip-Yip!"

Sort:  

Really feel the same way about Marvel heroes.... Too powerful.

They make DC heroes look like a joke...along with the box office earnings

Even Superman had kryptonite. I reckon we'll find out her weakness later.

Most superhero movies are written for kids. I can only remember batman being the only superhero that was shown to be vulnerable and weak from both a physical, emotional and mental standpoint.

Everyone else is pretty much a gary stu/mary sue where what little vulnerability that is shown, is entirely fabricated and not believable.

When I watch marvel movies, I don't have high expectations. As long as it delivers good fight chorography, explosions and a few bad jokes then I'm good.

i have never heard the term Gary Stu before. Did you make that up?

No. I heard it a long time ago during my manga reading/anime watching days. Couldn't think of anything more perfect to describe those empty, soulless, and vapid skinny supermen that got all the girls and all the glory. It's rarely used today though. Usually we use Mary Sue but that is an insult for female characters.

I still don't know and most likely will wait for it to appear on my Fire TV. I will check tonight if it's there, but I think it may be too soon. Not a huge fan of Marvel movies so a bit like you with Leonardo's movies.

The storyline of the movie seems great and interesting , by dealing with alien enemies and also for her to have supernatural powers makes this film to be a thrilling movie to watch. But your assertion about Marvel film been predictable at the end of their movies really gives me some concern because I as a person I don't like films that I can predict the outcome of their next moves.

this film is very stressful, if only there is a cinema certainly has the pleasure of watching a film full of challenges

It’s was good but she don’t like white men 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm glad you enjoyed it.

I probably won't make it out to the theater to see this one, but I look forward to when it is available on video so I can watch it. I am happy to hear a pretty unbiased opinion of it. It seems like a lot of the reviews that are out are totally clouded by the Marvel fanboy/girl mania.

Oh hey, It's been a minute since I've read one of your reviews. Managed to catch this last Thursday and I have some pretty mixed feelings about it.

First off, the controversy about this film being some feminist manifesto was entirely absurd and largely comical in context of the actual film. Captain Marvel was a female fronted movie featuring that only vaguely alluded to sexism and smartly contextualized it in the very real banning of women in combat roles within the military during the period the film took place in. Having watched it, I couldn't help be but be disappointed in how grown adults got so offended over this that they decided to tank a review for a movie they never saw, but it's 2019 and there seems to be no limit to innocuous things people get offended by.

With all that aside, I really wanted them to knock this one out of the park partially to prove all the haters wrong and well... it was just good. Not great.

In hindsight this should have been really obvious. More than any other Marvel Cinematic Universe film, this one felt really constrained by the role that it had to play in the shared universe. While recent films got to expand the universe outward, Captain Marvel had to fit a certain role during a certain time period and end in a way that aligned with the beginning of Guardians Of The Galaxy and the ending of Infinity War effectively making it feel like a prequel rather than a movie standing alone on its own. Essentially, this was a movie with very little in the way of surprises.

What you are left with is an enjoyable but pretty standard MCU origin story that set the character up for something more ambitious and interesting in the future. Worth seeing, but certainly not breaking my top 5 for Marvel films. I've got a list of more subtle complaints such as character arcs and music choices feeling really out of place, but at the end of the day this movie was fun with great effects and some solid chemistry between Carol Danvers and Nick Fury.

And yes, I have to agree with you. Her level of power is so insane that I am struggling to see how she will fit into the movies following a universe threatening battle with Thanos. We'll see.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97