Hot Tub Time Machine (film) : I liked it (it's my kind of humor)

in #movies5 years ago

I think that this movie would likely be considered dumb by many people and well, you can't really argue with them. However, the name of the movie is Hot Tub Time Machine so if you were expecting something with a story like The King's Speech you came to the wrong place.

hot-tub-time-machine_poster_goldposter_com_3.jpg

The story is silly as you might expect. A group of friends with various life issues decide to go cheer themselves up at a ski resort they have fond youthful memories of. By spilling a Russian (it's always the Russians!) energy drink into the console of their hot tub they accidentally (but don't realize it at the time) travel back in time to 1986.

They go skiing like they had planned but start to notice that people around them are dressed a bit funky (if you were not alive in the 80's this might not be as funny to you, but well, we dressed pretty ridiculously back then) and people are using walkman cassette players (and using cassettes) and one guy is bragging about how he is on his "mobile phone!"

hot_tub_time_machine_221.png

Lots of typically 80's things happen such as getting into a "beef" or sorts with the jock, cool guys at the resort and initially being embarrassed by them, getting involved in a love triangle of sorts, and also ending up being a hero for a musical performance (which the dude knowingly steals from the "future" but none of the people in attendance know that.)

hot-tub-time-machine-2010-10.png

All of our heros are themselves in the 80's also, except for Jacob, who wasn't alive yet in the 80's. We only briefly see them as their 80's selves and well, yeah, people actually tried to look like this on purpose in that time

hot-tub-time-machine-2010-07.png

Rob Corddry , John Cusack (who I haven't seen in a while,) and Craig Robinson actually work very well together and this movie was a lot of fun. I will admit that it is likely a lot more meaningful for people that are in the mid to late 30's or older, because we were around when a lot of this stuff was happening and can relate a bit more to how silly a lot of it was. Just don't get too judgemental if you are young today because guess what? Everyone is going to be laughing at today's fashion in 20 years (I would gamble particularly skinny jeans.)

I liked it, but well, it isn't amazing. I find it refreshing to see Craig Robinson in a more leading role because well, he was a music teacher before gaining fame and so was I - we gotta stick together us teachers.

6 / 10

Sort:  

This film represents one of the dreams of today's people, the desire to return to the past, to live with the youthful body but the awareness is still present.

I loved hot tub time machine 1 it is still one of my favourite comedies. That scene where they amp the violator up by saying you love Enrique Iglesias hero still gets me every time

Not to say that there weren't plenty of laughs in this movie. The chemistry between the 4 was also great, they really vibed off of one another and it didn't matter which of the 4 interacted with each other it was always funny

I have seen this as well, but to me, this is very much like the Hangover movies, incredibly predictable, and the humor doesn't really grab a hold on me. So, if you gave it a 6/10, I guess I would end up with a 3/10 or maybe a 4/10...

Noticed that you write quite a lot about movies, so you will see me commenting more in the future (as I am a big movie fan)!

"people are using walkman cassette players (and using cassettes)"

Okay, I'm sold! I love the eighties.
Thanks!

It seems like a very hilarious movie to enjoy @gooddream. I very much like to sre sci-fi movies. I also see the time machine which is a very cool movie with a great story. I am eager to see this movie too. Haha! Russians drinks made travel to 80's ! Only a glass of @mango-juice can bring them back! Lol.

stay healthy and keep posting mate.

Posted using Partiko Android

After reading I ended up concluding that the plot of the movie is interesting, rest seems okay after your rating. keep up with such good content.

Congratulations @gooddream! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 600 posts. Your next target is to reach 650 posts.
You made more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard Contest Teaser
The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thanks for the upvote on my post man

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97