Life in the Doghouse (Doco-Netflix): A true story of two really great dudes

in #movies5 years ago

I always like to consider myself a very compassionate person when it comes to dogs. Some of my friends will actually pick on me a little bit because of how I go out of my way to be kind to dogs and will completely ignore all of my pals if there is a friendly Chihuahua in the proximity (a Chihuahua who is receptive to strangers is a rarity.) However, after watching this documentary, I realize that I am pretty low on the totem pole as far as kindness to animals is concerned.


source

The story is about Danny Robertshaw and Ron Danta, a couple who accidentally started one of the largest dog-rescue associations in the world, and continue to do so today. It started with wanting to help out during the flooding of New Orleans and turned into their life's work. At the time of release, they had successfully rescued and helped find "forever homes" for over 10,000 stray and abandoned dogs. I tip my hat to you guys... for serious.


source

Both of these gentlemen were involved in the equestrian industry as both trainers of the horses and their riders. It was the existence of their horse-carrying trailer that inspired them to drive from Carolina down to New Orleans to pick up the many abandoned dogs (at their own expense) when Hurricane Katrina ravaged the city of New Orleans.


source

The way in which they have completely devoted their lives to helping out these 4-legged friends is truly inspiring and for me, it encouraged me to find a local foundation to support with both my time and money. For Danny and Ron, this has not been an easy journey, as they struggle both with facilities and the money necessary to keep their non-profit organization operating. The documentary is a good look into the lives of truly selfless individuals and it also made me a bit angry at times to see how despite the fact that they are doing a good thing for society (and my favorite members of most any society) the government keeps knocking at their door (not literally) looking for more money.

Most of their rescues come from shelters that have timelines where if a dog is not adopted it will be euthanized and at one point Ron says "Seeing their faces, and knowing they are going to die, drives me harder to want to save more."

If you are a dog lover like me, you really should see this documentary. It was wonderful and well, now I know what I am going to do with all my money in the future :)

I therefore assign the only rating that exists in my world that is higher than "Wowsers!"


f4e4866d8438776ecf377de7595fe43c.jpg

Sort:  

I love dogs... though I have never had the ability to own one. I live in a place where living with dogs (other chihuahuas) as pets is prohibited. I would love to own a German Shepherd because I can't get a Siberian Husky which is what I'd prefer. I have to watch this ♡

I looked this documentation about this two lovely guys. This guys spent all their money for helping dogs before the lethal injection.They even took out a loan for supporting the business.
I hope they will receive a lot of donations to continue this dog rescue company for long time. We need more people like this guys.

There are my two dogs :))

Posted using Partiko Android

little cuties ! :)

gracias a dios hay gente que se encarga a rescatar a los pobres peritos de las calles

I feel the same way as you I think. Show me a commercial on TV about the starving kids in Africa and I could care less. Show me a commercial about abused animals and I am pulling out my wallet as soon as Sarah Mclachlan starts talking. I joke of course. I do care about the starving kids all over the world, but you know what I mean. I think I saw a news story about these two guys a while ago. It is cool that they got their own documentary.

I know you really love animals the other day many days ago I saw a post where you walked with your pet, it was on my other steemit account, and I told you about the particular thing of caring and spending all possible moments with your pet, in truth I always like to see these posts on my facebook I have dozens of pages that I follow of pets and their owners, I feel peace seeing the great friendship that can exist with two totally different mammals.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63096.55
ETH 3032.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69