A Geeky Guy’s Movie Guide to The Cloverfield Paradox (2018)

in #movies6 years ago

I am a huge fan of the Cloverfield experience.

You read that right: Experience.

To me, the Cloverfield movies are more than just films. They are pieces to a much larger and ever evolving puzzle. I will explain more about this puzzle in a later post.



The cast is one of this movie's strong points.

*Warning, although this review contains no spoilers at all, it is a bit disjointed and out of order… just like everything in the Cloverfield Universe.

Ever since seeing the very last frame of Cloverfield over a decade ago, I have been dying for more of that story. Although, I was willing to accept the shaky camera and first person point of view, I didn't love it. What I did love was the story... and the puzzle. I wanted more of it. I wanted to know more about the events leading up to that night, the details of the night, and the aftermath.

For years I had heard rumors that J.J. Abrams might release movies detailing other people's points of view from that night. After all, it wasn't only Hud who was filming the events of the "incident". There are many scenes that show others filming on their cameras or phones.

I had also heard rumors that a more linear Godzilla-like movie was in the works.

I would happily welcome either of those.

When 10 Cloverfield Lane was released, I had hoped it would be directly connected to "the incident". Although I was disappointed that it was not connected, I loved that movie.



For the past two years, I have patiently waited for the puzzle to continue. Then it happened. During the Super Bowl, a surprise ad for The Cloverfield Paradox appeared out of nowhere. I immediately took out my phone and searched what the heck it could be. To my elation, I discovered the movie would be immediately available on Netflix after the game. I watched it as soon as I could.

As always, I was hoping for a very direct connection to Cloverfield. And as always, this was not that movie. Yet, I was not disappointed. In fact, this just means that the puzzle will continue.

While most people online absolutely hate this movie, I enjoyed it. I would imagine that is because I have learned never to expect a Cloverfield movie to be a simple, mindless linear story. Watching a Cloverfield movie is difficult. It takes work… and I love it.

Approximately fifteen minutes into the movie, I got off my couch and pulled up a chair very close to the television. I simply had to consume every detail. I didn't want to miss a single image, line of dialogue or sound. In short, I wanted to make sure I didn't miss any pieces of the puzzle. I was not disappointed.

There were important pictures in the background, meaningful character names, significant text messages, and other "Easter eggs" from the series.





While doing a little research for this post, I came across an endless sea of negative reviews (currently 19% on Rotten Tomatoes). For example, Brian Lowrey of CNN.com wrote, “Director Julius Onah’s film strands its solid cast in the vacuum of space with that most terrifying of monsters — an utterly convoluted script — producing a few tense moments but a general takeaway that’s much closer to puzzling than profound."

He is 100% right. Surprisingly, that is why I truly enjoyed this experience. The script was indeed complex and difficult to follow. The takeaway was puzzling. Because of these factors, like the previous movies, when this one ended, the experience did not. I immediately started searching online for those answers. To my delight, I found even more questions. I am going to be quite busy hunting for puzzle pieces over the next several months.

If you are looking for a movie that tells an easy to follow linear story that ends with everything tied up in a nice little bow, this is not the movie for you.

This film is both a prequel and a sequel to Cloverfield and 10 Cloverfield Lane. If that idea seems intriguing, you will most likely enjoy this piece of the puzzle. On the other hand, if you think that is preposterous, you should probably give this one a pass.



How can one movie be both a prequel and a sequel? You have to watch it to find out.

On the surface, The Cloverfield Paradox is a fairly cliche sci-fi/horror movie set aboard a space station nearly 20 years after the events of Cloverfield. Although the parallels to Alien, 2001: A Space Odyssey, and The Thing are incredibly obvious, there are enough original ideas to avoid calling it a complete ripoff. Without the puzzle, that is all this movie is: a run of the mill and very forgettable science fiction movie.

That is not to say it is a complete waste of time if you are not a huge fan of the franchise and its intricate puzzle. For a relatively low-budget movie, the cast is surprisingly excellent. David Oyelowo, who earned accolades for his role as Martin Luther King Jr. in Selma, did a fantastic job as Kiel, the Captain of the station. Gugu Mbatha-Rawas Hamilton is quite impressive. At one point, her performance almost moved me to tears. I could not find a single flaw in the rest of the cast. Even if one does not like this film, I doubt they would point to the cast as the reason.

I was also impressed by the music. Because the movie is very slow moving, the music played a pivotal role in creating drama and a feeling of anticipation.

As I have mentioned before, I think we have become spoiled by the quality of special effects. We have arrived at a place where the effects are only mentioned if they are terrible (Justice League). Although the effects are not spectacular, they are also not a distraction. Considering this was a relatively low budget movie, I would count that as a positive as well.

Even without the supplemental puzzle, the story is interesting… if you are willing to think while viewing it. If you just want something to toss on in the background while surfing steemit, choose something else.



The sets and effects were very good for a relatively low budget film.

Perhaps the greatest attribute for the non-Cloverfield fanatic is the length. At just over 90 minutes, The Cloverfield Paradox bucks the recent trend of overly bloated films (The Shape of Water). At that length, I feel comfortable recommending this movie based on the acting, music and special effects alone. If it turns out one of my friends hates it, all they lost is 90 minutes of their lives. Even though critics seem to despise this film, I would imagine at the worst, my circle of geeky friends would be indifferent to it.

As a semi-fanatic (I don’t go out and search for physical clues in the real world like the true fanatics) the best part of the movie is that it opens up an endless amount of possibilities for new Cloverfield projects. For example, the next installment will be set during WWII and center on a group of American paratroopers sent to take control of a Nazi occupied village during the D-Day invasion. Thanks to the events of The Cloverfield Paradox that story will actually be connected to those of Cloverfield set in 2008, 10 Cloverfield Lane set in 2016 and this film set in 2028.

I can’t wait to see the next piece of the puzzle... and the next piece... and the next piece.

Alternate Reality of The Geeky Guy's Guide (who should see this movie?):



Cloverfield Fanatic: You already watched it and started writing your fan theories and looking into the ARG (Alternate Reality Game).

Cloverfield Fan (like me): See it immediately and then go and check out what the true fanatics have written.

Person who enjoyed one of the previous movies: You should watch it at some point when you have 90 minutes to kill. (Perhaps on a flight?)

Sci-Fi Fan who doesn't need a lot of action and doesn't mind using thinking as a form of entertainment: Flip a coin.

Casual Fan of big Hollywood Sci-Fi blockbusters: Skip it.

Popcorn movie fan: Skip it.

Didn't find a description of you here: Thank you so much for reading this even though you have no interest in Cloverfield. You should definitely not watch it.

Images 1, 2, 3, 4

The Cloverfield Paradox is currently available to stream on Netflix.

Sort:  

I watched this on Sunday night, following the Super Bowl and it was one of the worst films I have ever seen. Terrible.

LOL. Yeah I know I am out on a limb on this one. But I love the entire puzzle so much that I am just too biased.

Loading...

As a Cloverfield fan I agree with your review. I liked the ninja drop from nowhere on Netflix, it is almost like the movie itself is creating a paradox :)

Thanks! I thought I was going to be all alone on this one. Most people hate it.

I thought it was ok and it did pass the time when I was bored and couldn't find anything else to watch.

Really glad I stumbled on this post. I really enjoyed 10 Cloverfield so I'm excited to hear that another movie is coming out. In the movie, it was interesting how it subtly related back to the original film (the satalite company the antagonist worked for...etc. It also had a lot of hidden messages. For instance, one of the big themes in the movie was domestic violence and the aliens at the end of the film represented the struggle that many victims face when they get out of an abusive relationship. Their troubles aren't over, they just begun.

The main character also talked about being haunted by the fact that in her past she remained silent when she witnessed an injustice (I can't remember the exact details) but then at the end of a movie she reaches a turning point and chooses not to remain silent going forward - she drives in the danger zone to help others rather than retreating to safety. This speaks a lot about how people remain silent in situations and retreat to safety rather than speaking up for those in need.

To answer the question:

how can a movie be a prequel to a sequel

I think the answer is that in the Cloverfield universe 10 Cloverfield ran parallel to the other movie in that both events were taking place at roughly the same time. So the new movie is a prequel to both movies actually.

I've got to be honest, I absolutely hated Cloverfield. What could have been a fantastic movie with amazing set design and special effects was absolutely ruined by the shaky hand-held camera nonsense.

It was only the story that kept me hanging on to the end but ultimately that wasn't enough - the poor quality visuals made me feel I'd watched a poor-quality pirated copy.

Fun fact. We couldn't even sell the DVD on eBay. Nobody wanted that steamer.

Having said that, I've added the Paradox film to my list on Netflix on the simple promise of no nausea-inducing amateur camera work.

Thanks for the review - I might have ignored the film on Netflix without your recommendation... but will I like it? That remains to be seen. :)

The shaky camera almost ruined it for me as well. I fought through because of the story. I hope at some point there is a regularly shot movie based on the events of that night. I want more but can't handle any more shaky camera.

I'm glad it's not just me then.
I remember thinking, during that amazing scene where they were traversing the luxury apartment block that was tilting at a 45-degree angle how cool that would have been if you could see it all clearly.
:-)

I did not think it a bad movie. It just had some moments of 'wtf that made no sense' but of course so does the nonlinear trilogy. How many will it take to'complete' the story?

I think it is infinite now. Anything is possible after the Shepard ripped time/space/dimensions.

I hope it will be good, I still don't know how much I liked the Movie. I want a sequel of the original Godzilla.

They need to make a good Godzilla movie already. I can't believe that can't get one right with the special effects available.

Holy cow, there was another one of Cloverfield!?
I enjoyed both of the previous movies. I'm definitely giving a try to the Paradox. I'm already curious what piece of the puzzle is here.

I especially enjoyed Cloverfield when I saw it. 10 Cloverfield Lane for me was one of those movies that just kept getting better & better with an eerie feel of, "Hey that could happen to me".

I have not seen The Cloverfield Paradox but after reading this article I sure cannot wait to see it. You say it's on Netflix? Awesome!

I'm in a for a real treat I see...
Upvoted

Part of what i try to do when discussing movies with people is not shit on things that they like. People have different tatstes, and that’s that.

That being said, i didn’t like this. I thought it was a mess, way too derivative, and just like Cloverfield Lane—it was never supposed to be a Cloverfield movie. Abrams or whoever has basically started scouting scripts/projects that can’t get off the ground or need an additional angle, snag it up, and then co-opt it into a Cloverfield sequel. While i never loved the first movie, i had great fun with all of the viral stuff and Easter eggs. It was a whole social mythos that was cool. But these last two movies (i reaaaaaly likes Cloverfield Lane until the shoehorned ending) don’t really add to that in a meaningful way, imo. I want to see a sequel that was ACTUALLY supposed to be the sequel. I Actully think i would’ve been More okay with this if it wasn’t a Cloverfield movie, because like you said it has a great cast, some interesting bits, and a suspenseful moment or two.

In the end, i just feel like this is a cheap way to build that universe, and honestly it doesn’t even feel like it fits to me.

I don't get too sensitive about matters of opinion. I knew I was going to be in the minority with this one for sure. I had a ton of fun with the viral marketing 10 years ago and then again with Cloverfield Lane so that played a huge role in why I enjoyed this.

For me this movie was just a tiny piece of the overall puzzle. Not my favorite piece. Actually 20 years from now, I hope I consider this the worst part of the anthology... because that will mean there were a lot of cool movies after it

I have heard that Cloverfield is trying to be an anthology similar to The Twilight Zone but with some kind of common thread. Imagine if all of those Twilight Zone episodes had a detail that tied them all together. So I saw this one as a way to basically explain everything that will be under the Cloverfield umbrella. How do monsters end up in a Nazi occupied village during the D-Day invasion? The Shepard accelerator made anything and everything possible.

I guess that’s part of what i don’t like. It seems like a a bit of a cop out to really crafting the story of how it all went down. But alas, different strokes.

It’s interesting that you bring up the anthology stuff because apparently Black Mirror has some way to link every episode together. I just started the new season, so I’m not sure how (definitely noticed some similar tech 8n different episodes) but I’ll be interested to see.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94