Watching "Terminator" for the first time as a thirty something year old in 2019

in #movies5 years ago

I've never watched any of Terminator films. There's plenty of them. I've watched the (what I thought to be) excellent TV spin-off Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles, but had no interest in watching the Terminator films at all.

For some reason, that has all changed. As a "fan" of science fiction - it is porbably a very bad thing that I haven't seen these films.

Today I'll be going over my thoughts on The Terminatorm the original 1984 film, for the first time in a life time. I know all about the bad one liners - but that's pretty much all I know, beyond the risse of the machines via Skynet.

The titular Terminator is hunting everyone named Sarah Connor. Meticulously going through the phone book, he's after them one by one - until he finds the Sarah Connor, and is rudely interrupted by the person assigned to protect her.

It is at this moment that we learn what the hell is going on. It is impossible to kill the cyborg terminator using conventional means. That is because everyone but Sarah Connor is from the future. Well, one of many futures. It is not immediately evident why Sarah Connor is being hunted by this Terminator - but it is for something that she will do.


The thing is, she's not told what that is, and that is what makes you want to keep watching after half an hour of an ordinary woman's life being ripped to shreds by numerous such revelations. Then there's more action. More gunfire. More ... tension - and a surprising lack of dialogue.

vlcsnaperror468.png

The film features several "flash forward" segments, where we get glimpses of the future, as though they're the past. This is a story-telling element to show the desolate, war-torn world that humanity could descend toward. These segments are incredibly gritty, and paint a desperate backdrop on the present day that the film introduces you to.

There's one thing for certain - it is not an excellent film, but it is certainly an entertaining one - it gets better and better as it progresses through action sequence to action sequence.

In the context of modern action film, you can clearly see the formulaic building blocks and classic sequenced set pieces that put together the story. Some of the visual effects haven't aged well, but for the most part, it is an engrossing watch for a first timer.

Sort:  

Yes that's very surprising you haven't watched Terminator. The second one is even better.

Next you're going to tell me you haven't watched Commando :)

This was one of my first movies I saw on VHS...classic.

Alyssa Milano was, what 10?

Almost 13, just checked.

Yeah, I haven't seen it..

:)

Well If you have time I recommend it. It's one of those classic 80's action movies.

The series peaked at 2. It would've been even better had they cast anyone but Edward Furlong as John.
All the charisma of an old cigarette butt.

I would agree... I watched the 2nd directly after - it was epic.

Yeah Furlong peaked in t2. He was not a good choice but the story carried him. His career fizzled after this film.

Posted using Partiko Android

The Sarah Connor Chronicles was highly underrated.

Terminator is fun! And they're making a new one. Who knows if it's good but I'm keeping an eye on it.

I probably won't get involved with it. It was fun, but I don't see where else they could go with the story after the 2nd one which I watched straight after this.

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sbi-booster.

Glory!!! That was a blast from the past!!! lol Cant say I am much of a fan myself... more into "chick flicks" (understandably) lol - but thanks for the reminder... because my son would LOVE them !!!!!

Hi @holoz0r!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.203 which ranks you at #878 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 206 contributions, your post is ranked at #34.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60625.76
ETH 2898.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62