V for Vendetta - Interpreting Quotes As Life Lessons.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #movies7 years ago

"Remember, remember, the 5th of November. The gun powder treason and plot. I know of no reason, why the gun powder treason, should ever, be, forgot." - Definitely one of the most quoted lines from the movie V for Vendetta.

This being my favorite movie of all time, however, there are others that I like even more. Why is this my favorite movie of all time you ask? Many reasons to be honest. I love the story telling. I love the plot, even though I am against using violence to further any agenda. I love the cast, absolutely love all the people they chose to play their specific parts. Natalie Portman as "Evey", imo, was phenomenal. Full disclosure, I should add that she is my 'hall pass' agreement with my wife. If I should ever run in to her and she decides she wants to make love with me, she is the one person in the world my wife says I can. But in no way, shape, or form is this a primary reason why this is my favorite.

Beyond her character though, Creedy, Prothero, Sutler, Detective Finch, and everyone else did such an bang-up job of playing their part to a T. Beyond even the characters, beyond the story telling, and the plot, there's something even better that draws me to watch this movie again and again.

The quotes.

They are what give the story telling so much power. So much influence and strength. They are relatable in more than just this movie.

"Beneath this mask there is more than flesh, Beneath this mask there is an idea, Mr. Creedy, and ideas are bulletproof." - V

This one probably resonates so much with me because it is very similar to a Ron Paul quote.

"“Ideas are very important to the shaping of society. In fact, they are more powerful than bombings or armies or guns. And this is because ideas are capable of spreading without limit." - Ron Paul

As an anarchist/voluntaryist/or whatever you prefer to call it, these ideas are not main stream by any means right now. But that doesn't mean that these ideas won't be common place in the future. A Ponzi scheme, which government most definitely is, can only last so long as history has shown.

“There are no coincidences, only the illusion of coincidences" - V

I am a firm believer that everything happens for a reason. I like to think that even when bad things happen, something good can and will eventually come out of it. Maybe something so amazing that the bad thing was actually a blessing. A blessing in disguise as they say.

"People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people." - V

Oh how true this is and how in-factual it is in todays world. At least here in the US, spying, stop and frisk, and many others 4th amendment violations are running rampant. They are not afraid of us, because we have decided to be dependent on them. This only ends badly if this course is stayed.

"My father was a writer. You would've liked him. He used to say that artists use lies to tell the truth, while politicians use them to cover the truth up." - Evey

This quote reminds me of another quote "Do you know how to tell when a politician is lying?...When his lips move". Artists have a way of using lies to speak truths, politicians on the other hand lie incessantly to cover them up.

"Our integrity sells for so little, but it is all we really have. It is the very last inch of us. But within that inch, we are free." - Valerie

Without integrity, what are you really? A shill to be bought and paid for? It is the last inch of us. Don't sell it for anything!

"But what I hope most of all is that you understand what I mean when I tell you that, even though I do not know you, and even though I may never meet you, laugh with you, cry with you, or kiss you, I love you. With all my heart, I love you." - Valerie

This one needs a little context if you haven't seen the film. Valerie is a prisoner and is passing notes through the wall to Evey, who is also imprisoned. They exchange notes for some time before she receives this last note from Valerie. I love this one so much because I want love and joyfulness for everyone in the world. Even though I have never met you, laughed with you or cried with you, I love you, and I want the best for you.

There are many more that I could list, because they all have some meaning to me. But I would like to leave you with this one.

SPOILER ALERT!!! If you haven't seen the movie you may want to skip my intro...

Delia was a nurse at a facility where V was at one point. She injected him with who knows what and they did all sorts of nasty inhumane things to him, basically he was a human guinea pig. When V gets his vengeance by injecting her with a deadly poison while she sleeps, she wakes up. He tells her he already injected her and she will die soon with no pain. She then asks the question with her last breaths and V responds. She makes internal peace and dies.

Delia Surridge: Is it meaningless to apologize?
V: Never.
Delia Surridge: I'm so sorry.

Forgiveness, imo, is the greatest gift you can give yourself. You are not legitimizing someone else's bad behavior when you forgive them. You are simply letting go of your anger and resentment towards them. Out of all the deaths in this movie, Delia's tugs at my heart strings the most. She was a grunt, if you will. An order obeyer, going against her internal beliefs and morals by doing the things her bosses told her to do. In the end though, I believe she realized this, and made amends with V and accepted her fate. It resonates with me so much because I see this as a daily excuse for the order followers in government. "Just doing what I was told" is no excuse for immoral behavior.

Have you seen 'V for Vendetta'?

Any quotes you absolutely love that I missed?!

Hope you enjoyed some of my favorite quotes from my all time favorite movie! Steem on friends!

*imgs sourced from google
*quotes sourced from rotten tomatoes

Sort:  

Yes, it is an outstanding movie with a good message.

Yes, we need to convey truth to all the "order followers" out there... Best wishes as you continue your efforts to do so.

😄😇😄

@creatr

Thanks man, glad you have seen it and liked it. It’s an everyday kinda thing for me to spread the good word of voluntary interactions. I try at least :)

I appreciate that, and Re-Steemed your fine article...

Awww thanks for the review, I had seen this a while back but I was talking to a friend the whole time I was watching. I might need to watch it again and internalize the message. I know this is a very good movie.

PS your wife is really nice. I would also make love with Natalie. ;)

You're very welcome!

Yeah, you definitely need to watch it again, by yourself so you can concentrate. Or with a friend who doesn't ask a million questions about the movie they haven't seen, lol.

My wife is very nice to allow me that opportunity, I'm glad I am not the only one who wouldn't mind a one nighter with Natalie. To be fair though, she gets a hall pass with Channing Tatum if that opportunity ever arises. Just so it's even-steven ;)

Yeah, I'm gonna watch it again. If I am your wife I would be jealous of Natalie but then there's Channing Tatum lol

but you spoiled the whole movie :) oh yeah I was looking for the fireworks scene :)

feel free to flag it to save the spoiled children :)

damn it's better than I remember :)

oh yeah, "you may only look in the mirror" close enough, great movie, great scenes, great cinematography, we have yet to enact it :)

So good I just got goosebumps....just like every time I see this.

"You need only to look in the mirra" you got it :)

Thanks for chiming in! Hopefully we won't have to re-enact it. Instead, the illusion of authority dissipates from our minds and we simply go on living w/o it. Cheers!

Congratulations @intothewild! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63035.00
ETH 3022.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82