Valentine Movie Special: Flipped (Spoiler Alert and how I swooned at Bryce Loski)

in #movies6 years ago

tumblr_ntrkswSNGA1trfj7po1_500.png

I had Flipped. Completely. -Bryce Loski

Flipped is a 2010 rom/com drama directed by Rob Reiner based on the novel by Wendelin Van Draanen. The movie was considered a flop due to only grossing about $1.7 million and had a production cost of about $14 million. Personally, it absolutely is no flop for me. I bought the book in a local book sale and started researching about it, only to find out there was a movie. I was genuinely grateful for the movie, seeing as the title is Flipped, the book was full of different point of views, set in different times, so it got a wee bit confusing.

I fell in love with the setting, it's set in the late 1950's-1960's, and I truly adore vintage themes, the fashion, the culture, not the sexism though (lol). Speaking of which, sexism is discussed in this movie as well, through our dear heroine. It's the kind of movie that gives you this fuzzy feeling in your stomach, in the filipino language we refer to it as Kilig, which is similar to feeling giddy.

tumblr_nrxuk73U611t3uwx5o3_500.gif

Bryce Loski

Bryce is your typical young adolescent who values his place in the school's social construct and I guess he's one of the "popular kids" in school. He's handsome, he's cute, he's smart but it seems his image is something he always worries about. He met Juli in 2nd grade, when him and his family moved to the neighborhood and unfortunately does not feel the spark that she had felt. He's been doing his best to try and keep Juli at bay for an entire 6 years.

He lives with his mother Patsy, his dad Steven, his older sister Lynetta, and his grandfather Chet. His dad isn't so fond of the bakers as well. Time passed and Juli began to question her feelings for Bryce, seeing as how he is as a person. Unfortunately, at that time, Bryce's feelings have Flipped, too.

tumblr_n97nq5Sz8K1tfdx3po1_500.gif

I gotta say, his character development was something predictable, but it just felt so good to see it unfold right before your eyes. He started realizing his mistakes and finding out that for some reason, Juli's opinion of him seemed to matter. Also he just makes me swoon (heart eyes).

tumblr_nhyt5eAWzd1tbz0x4o1_500.gif
tumblr_nvp956UPhw1uhl727o1_500.gif

Juli Baker

tumblr_n8rspz8nkI1tfyihgo1_500.gif

Julianna "Juli" Baker is the girl irrevocably in love with Bryce. Ever since Bryce Loski moved into her neighborhood in the second grade, she falls in love with him. She's headstrong, hard working, and wise beyond her age. Although, the stalker part wasn't very pleasing, but I think every girl has done a little stalking on her crush. Juli never cared about what people say about her and she was never fond of shallow people. At the beginning, she was so in love with Bryce, as to not see his flaws.

tumblr_nqzzidVjT51ua2ay1o1_500.gif

Later on, she started realizing that maybe Bryce wasn't all that she thought he was. Maybe he was even less. And whatever thoughts she had on Bryce was brought upon by his actions, he was an ass. Then it changed over time, she started standing up for herself more, and for her family. She's a very driven person, once she's had her mind set on something, she'll do what it takes to get there. I thought that she was a very good role model for younger girls out there that think the world of a boy and if I had the chance to go back and tell my silly 13 year old self off, I'd tell her everyhting I learned from the character that is Juli Baker.

tumblr_ndhtc4U2lJ1tzmeh5o1_500.gif

Favorite Quotes:

I liked it.
I liked her.
And everytime I saw her, she seemed more beautiful. She just seemed to glow. I’m not talking like a hundred-watt bulb; she just had this warmth to her. Maybe it came from climbing that tree. Maybe it came from singing to chickens. Maybe it came from whacking at two-by-fours and dreaming about perpetual motion. I don’t know. All I know is that compared to her, Shelly and Miranda seemed so…ordinary.
I’d never felt like this before. Ever. And just admitting it to myself instead of hiding from it made me feel strong. Happy. I took of my shoes and socks and stuffed them in the basket. My tie whipped over my shoulder as I ran home barefoot, and I realized that Garrett was right about one thing- I had flipped. Completely. -Bryce Loski

When she walked out of the door, I felt back to the first time I saw her. How could anybody, ever, have wanted to run away from Juli Baker -Bryce Loski

One’s character is set at an early age. The choices you make now will affect you for the rest of your life. I hate to see you swim out so far you can’t swim back. -Chet Duncan

“A painting is more then the sum of it’s parts. A cow by itself is just A cow. A meadow by itself is just grass, flowers. And the sun picking through the trees, is just a beam of light. But you put them all together and it can be magic” -Richard Baker

And my absolute favorite:

“Some of us get dipped in flat, some in satin, some in gloss; but every once in a while, you find someone who’s iridescent, and once you do, nothing will ever compare.” -Chet Duncan

After I watched this movie years ago, I realized, that maybe I should think my choices through. In a way, really assess someone I've got my eyes on and truly get to know their character. But I guess I didn't learn much when I thought I've met someone....iridescent, only to find out in the end that there was not a flicker of flame in that person.

tumblr_o2q38vKgUg1rurt5do2_500.gif

tumblr_og743ebqM91qlkhlxo1_500.jpg

Flipped for me, is a good uplifting movie that has charm and good characters. It explores the changes that can happen within moments as it also embarks on the changes growing up has on our physical, mental and emotional health. It embarks on a fun-filled joyride in the lives of Juli Baker and Bryce Loski as both discover new things about themselves and each other. It brings a sense of joy whenever a person is watching it. Though not without its flaws, it is a great movie altogether

I also loved the soundtrack. They used music from the Everly Brothers to Elvis Presly, to really get that vintage and retro theme. It's so much fun to watch with all the interesting music in the background. I've made a spotify playlist containing the sountrack, check out this link.

tumblr_nhyrkqPeaZ1tbz0x4o1_500.gif

Single or not, this movie is a definite must watch, especially with the storm brewing in the Philippines, it's perfect for staying in and enjoying a lighthearted romantic film on Valentines Day. Happy hearts day to everyone on Steemit and I do hope you check this movie out and tell me what you think! All the love! xx

Sort:  

The lines were great @pizzanniza. Nice movie to binge watch.

Not a fan of romcoms but i am intrigued with this one!

CHECK IT OMGGGGG MABUANG KA

I always try to find a sycamore tree here in Cebu HAHA. Not sure if there are any but I have seen resemblances to it and I always yell out "Sycamore tree!", in my mind when I see one.

Favorite part was about the eggs. It must really be hard for Juli. Glad they turned out fine though. Especially as the planted a tree in the end. Best fruits of romance is always making new life together. *no pun intended

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59849.00
ETH 2961.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82