The Power of a Good Meaningful Movie

in #movies5 years ago

Lately, in an attempt to take a break from the chaotic life I've been having. I've been making time for one of my old loves.

Movies.

I've been intentionally looking for movies that will inspire me, or give me perspective. I've also been leaning towards movies based on real life events.

The Big Short

  • Seen this before and loved it
  • Great reminder of how shit the current financial system is.

The Impossible

  • First time
  • Great reminder to cherish what you have and how things could always be much much worse.
  • Great reminder of a mother's strength.

Coach Carter

  • First time
  • Great reminder of having good values and perseverance.
  • Didn't expect to hear one of my all time favourite quotes in this movie, which was a really nice synchronicity.

These have all helped me, in some sort of way, to move forward, so I'm on the lookout for more!

I'm on a mission to get myself feeling more recharged, inspired, connected, and really just more like myself again.

So if you have any movies you can recommend for these purposes, let me know!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Oh these sound nice. Curious what that quote is :P

<3

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won't feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It's not just in some of us; it's in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.” - Marianne Williamson

Posted using Partiko Android

Aw. Duude. That is so awesome, I love it. Thanks for sharing it :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I've seen all 3 and I can definitely recommend them too.

"Big Short" might be the most interesting one if we talk about financial system/money/crypto etc. Don't want to give you spoilers but the best moment was when they explain how insurance companies works and what budget theyve got when something collapsed :D that will open your head definitely.

I've seen these ones already :) feel free to recommend more though!

Posted using Partiko Android

I said to others not to You kevinli's mother ok? :D

Have you seen "Vice"?

Sorry to hear you're feeling a bit "off" @redrica. When I was readying you post the film that came to be was 'Being There'. I know I found it inspiring at the time but not sure if I would now or not. It's pretty old. 😁

I hope you feel more like yourself (whoever that is 😂) soon. 💙

Thanks Gillian :) will check that one out!

Posted using Partiko Android

i love these kind of posts. We dont have tv so we appreciate to hear about movies... Thumbs up!

Posted using Partiko Android

Fuck tv! ;)

Memento might be my all time favorite, so a strong recommendation from me!

Posted using Partiko Android

Ohh yes an old favourite of mine... definitely time to watch it again ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

It's one of those rare movies I can watch again, usually I really dislike viewing movies again, but Memento is a different case – you might understand why :P

Congratulations @redrica! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi @redrica!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.044 which ranks you at #1104 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 139 places in the last three days (old rank 1243).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 145 contributions, your post is ranked at #32.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69831.92
ETH 3744.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77