Gummo: Enter the Strange

in #movies6 years ago

gummo-movie-poster-1997-1020236356.jpg

Gummo is one of the strangest movies I've ever seen.It was even weirder for me considering I was probably 8 when I seen it haha.But it's a hidden gem from underground cult director Harmony Korine.

gummo-1200-1200-675-675-crop-000000.jpg

Now while this movie doesn't have the strongest story, the weirdness alone sells it.It basically shows the lives of the poor, challenged & twisted minds.You get some disturbing stuff, sad things & even comedy at times throughout this film.Here, I give you one of the funnier scenes.

Harmony is pretty out there haha & perhaps a bit crazy.To give you a little example, here's a piece of an article I found about the filming process.

After filming his drunken cameo he threw his sister through a window.

Korine was wasted IRL in the scene where he chats to a dwarf and spills his beer all over the place. "I needed to be in a certain state and it's hard to direct in that state so we saved that for last," he says. It was right before the film's wrap party at a local Nashville strip club. But Korine didn't make it to that. "I was out of it and I was really excited," he continues. "It was like four in the morning, and I think my sister went up to give me a hug, to congratulate me on finishing the film, and something happened and I threw her through a window. And this grip who looked like Mr Clean, this bald guy, he took a pocket knife and stabbed me … And that was the way it ended."

Also, here's how the filming conditions were & how Korine went about it.

Korine wore speedos and flip-flops in a bug-infested house to piss the "pussy" crew off.
The crew shot in some scummy places in Nashville. The worst were the bug-infested houses where people lived like rats. "In one of the houses, I found a piece of a guy's shoulder in a pillowcase," Korine told Herzog. "At times the crew would refuse to film in those conditions. We had to buy them those white suits like people wear in a nuclear fallout. I got angry with them because I thought they were pussies. I mean, all we're talking about is bugs and a disgusting rotting smell." But Korine's cinematographer Jean Yves Escoffier, like Korine, was fearless. They rebelled together. "When the others were wearing their toxic outfits, he and I wore Speedos and flip-flops just to piss them off."

Anyways, it's cool to return to steem! I've been a little absent lately due to work & Monster Hunter haha.But please, give Gummo a view!

(Some scenes in this movie are real while others are not.No cats were actually harmed.)

gummo.jpg

Sort:  

The junkyard scene with the two little fowl mouthed Hillbilly kids is one of my favorite parts. Kids can be cruel. Lol. The song at the beginning of the movies good to.

I love Harmony Korines movies Gummo was one of the first of his movies i seen. My son looked just like Rabbit when he was that age. Lol. ☆ You shitty ass rabbit you smell like piss. Lol !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62352.72
ETH 2953.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62