The power of DSLR cameras

in #movies8 years ago

Hello everyone!

I am aspiring amateur film maker and this post might be usefull for film makers

I am actually owner of canon 60D DSLR camera. At the beginning of my film making journey I used to think that to get that really cinematic image you need to have those expensive cameras like RED, Black Magic etc. I couldn't be more wrong. Good eyes are the most important and you are able do cinematic shots even on "old" cameras.

Today I would like to present to You a great amateur film maker which I found recently - Kendy Ty. Kendy is a one man studio, doing his films only with "old" canon Canon 550D / T2i and Sigma 30mm F1.4 (old version). He uses only his hands and natural light.

" I think it is much more atmospheric. I don’t like it when you can see everything clearly on screen because it looks fake. " - he says.

In five years he reached perfection in the use of his gear and is a true inspiration to us (filmmakers) He is showing that's not the expensive cameras are making the quality images. It is our eyes and skilled hands doing all the magic.

Here is Kendy's director showreel. Very inspiring stuff. All shot with T2i mostly using only his hands and no additional equipment

IMAGE ALT TEXT

Kendy's website

http://www.kendyty.com/

If you are a canon filmmaker as I am you can check Kendy's picture style that he made himself and which he used on several shortfilms. I know that he is also using vision color picture style which you can find here:

http://www.vision-color.com/visioncolor-for-canon-eos/

How to color grade it? You can achieve Kendy's cinematic look by using the basic color curves tool for example in After Effect/Premiere/Davinci Resolve etc. Here is example from Kendy's website.

You can also apply grain on the footage to get that organic feel. Kendy uses grains from

http://www.gorillagrain.com/

I find it very inspiring and it helped me a lot to get so much better footage from my DSLR so I thougt I will share the knowlege and inspiration with You.

Good luck film makers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61750.97
ETH 2886.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63