Heroes and the Creation of Myth: Spider-Man: Homecoming

in #movies6 years ago

Superheroes occupy a nearly-unique position in the history of human character creation. They are creatures of myth, but at the same time people with the concerns of human beings, even when they are themselves alien. This puts them in a position to not only be the subjects of myth, but to interact with and in some cases control the creation of the mythology which surrounds them.

In this series I set out to analyze the different ways heroes participate in the creation of their own mythology. I've decided to begin with the largest single continuity ever attempted in film, the Marvel Cinematic Universe. I was going to watch or rewatch the eighteen existing MCU films in order to look at them specifically from this perspective in the time leading up to the release of The Avengers: Infinity War. I totally didn't get there in time, but I'm going to finish anyway. Today I'm looking at Iron Man 4... wait. No, this is Spider-Man: Homecoming.

Spiderman_Homecoming_2017_Screenshot_0592.jpg

I really wish I was going to spend this post talking about Spider-Man. On a personal level I really enjoy this particular nerdy, wisecracking Peter Parker, not to mention Ned and MJ and Martin Starr's lovely role as the Academic Decathlon adviser. But Peter the ur-character, the Peter Parker who is trying desperately to promote the myth of Spider-Man through his photography while clashing with J. Jonah Jameson's own vision of the myth of Spider-Man, is completely absent from this movie. It's one of the most powerful narratives of a superhero fighting to maintain control of his own myth, and it's disappointing that this movie chose to make its myth-making plot about Tony Stark's hubris and daddy issues instead.

Spiderman_Homecoming_2017_Screenshot_0249.jpg

But it did, and so I'm stuck with it, even though I feel like I've talked about the dude way more than I ever wanted to already. Would you hate me if I just skipped this and went on to Black Panther? Well, it wouldn't feel right to me. I set out on this quest, and I'm going to finish it all. Anyway, it's not really surprising that Tony Stark's thoughtlessness drives the plot of this movie, because this is the MCU and most of the bad things that happen have their root cause in one Stark or another. If we get to Avengers 4 and find out that Thanos' population-control ideas came from Tony's grandpa, don't say I didn't warn you.

Spiderman_Homecoming_2017_Screenshot_0101.jpg

This time around it goes all the way back to Tony's actions after the first Avengers movie and the cleanup from the Chitauri War. Stark and the government really quite sensibly want control over the wrecked alien technology scattered around the city, but by the Stark and S.H.I.E.L.D. methodology they go after it with authority, trampling everyone who was there first. That includes Adrian Toomes, our villain for the piece, who gets the first part of his revenge by walking off with a truck full of Chitauri weapons.

Spiderman_Homecoming_2017_Screenshot_0146.jpg

Of course that's not enough for Toomes, or he wouldn't be much of a villain. He wraps his humiliation inside a myth, casting himself as "the little guy" to Tony Stark and the Avengers' massive military industrial operation, and in the beginning he's not all wrong. But pretty soon the little guy has a big house in the suburbs, an Audi, and a high-tech flying Vulture suit; everything an upwardly-mobile small businessman aspires to. (Although the Audi may not be so special; almost everyone in this movie has one. Only Aunt May misses out, and she drives a Volvo.)

Spiderman_Homecoming_2017_Screenshot_1142.jpg

But back to who we're supposed to be paying attention to: Iron Man. He has nominated himself as a father figure to Peter, along with everything Tony would want in a father: neglect, surveillance, condescension, disregard, and bailing Peter out of dangerous situations without actually solving them. I really hope Pepper is taking notes.

Spiderman_Homecoming_2017_Screenshot_2418.jpg

After Peter nearly prevents Vulture from destroying the Staten Island Ferry, and Iron Man has to bail him out at the last second again, Tony comes up with perhaps the only piece of real wisdom he's ever had: "If you're nothing without the suit, then you shouldn't have it." It's a credo he should consider with regard to himself sometime.

Spiderman_Homecoming_2017_Screenshot_2896.jpg

But rather than giving Peter some time to reflect on that idea, Tony takes the good Spider-Man suit away from him and does nothing about Vulture, leaving Peter to track down and defeat a super-villain with nothing but his pajamas. Tony tries to recast this as some sort of test after Peter has been successful, and Peter is anxious to buy into that idea. But if it really was a test it was a sadistic one. If it wasn't it's merely profoundly irresponsible followed by gaslighting.

Spiderman_Homecoming_2017_Screenshot_3628.jpg

Either way, when Peter turns down Tony's offer to join the Avengers at the end of the movie, one can't help but be relieved. Any teenager blindly following this guy is bound to end up somewhere really unpleasant.

Previous entries in this series:
Part 1: Iron Man (2008)
Part 2: The Incredible Hulk (2008)
Part 3: Iron Man 2 (2010)
Part 4: Thor (2011)
Part 5: Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)
Part 6: The Avengers (2012)
Part 7: Iron Man 3 (2013)
Part 8: Thor: The Dark World (2013)
Part 9: Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)
Part 10: Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
Part 11: The Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)
Part 12: Ant-Man (2015)
Part 13: Captain America: Civil War (2016)
Part 14: Doctor Strange (2016)
Part 15: Guardians of the Galaxy 2 (2017)

All images in this post are from Spider-Man: Homecoming, copyright 2017 Marvel, used in this post under Fair Use: Criticism. Provided courtesy of FanCaps.net

Sort:  

we're finally entering the phase 4 of the universe and I can't wait to see what MCU has up their sleeves...

You probably will be covering the latest Avengers soon as I see you going chronologically?

Well it took me two weeks to get from Guardians 2 to Spider-Man, so soon might be pushing it at this point. I do want to see Infinity War again in the theater though, so I'm a little bit motivated to get through the next two.

What did you think of Infinity War?

It's huge. I haven't really taken the time to analyze it much, but I liked it well enough. Groot's finally going to get his share of the mythic analysis, which makes me happy.

The whole Thanos Snap thing is kind of overblown, we know none of those people are actually dead. More interesting is that we know at least one person killed otherwise also isn't dead long-term, so it's going to be interesting to see how they make the process of bringing them all back work.

If you are talking about Spiderman Homecoming 2, yeah you totally right, it's happening right after the Avengers Infinity War so it means that they manage to reverse what happened

There's been some people suggesting the remaining cast will gather the stones, and forge the gauntlet on an alternate reality. which I am ok with.

I think Captain Marvel will be the link as well, she is supposed to be one of the most powerful superheroes.
And how Adam Warlock in Guardians Vol.3 ?? He can wield the gauntlet too!

We know there's another Spider-Man movie, we know there's another Black Panther, we know there's Guardians 3 and James Gunn has spoiled that it's going to be Gamora-focused. So all of those people need to come back.

Theoretically they could leave somebody like Dr. Strange dead but I don't think they will. If someone dies permanently in Avengers 4 I'm pretty sure it's going to be someone who is alive now.

In the comic Infinity War plot Nebula takes the glove from Thanos and brings everyone back, I think that's the most likely thing to happen here as well.

"In the comic Infinity War plot Nebula takes the glove from Thanos and brings everyone back" oh yeah she is more of a zombie in the comic too

"I think that's the most likely thing to happen here as well." I hope it won't cancel out the emotional impact of part1.

I could see Stark doing the ultimate sacrifice to save the world

hulk vs thor
superman vs batman
jocker vs the fed

I just realized that I need to start watching some new series :D

Wow really liked this write up. I didn't like something about the movie but wasn't enough in tune with its psychology to know why. Now I get it.
Now waiting for you to explain why I can't stop liking Thanos and if that probably means bad things for my future.
It's not that I'm evil it's just that he's cast in such a ... likeable manner? I have daddy issues? Fuck I'll never be able to enjoy the MCU again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99