Best motivational, inspiring or touching movies ever.

in #movies7 years ago

Hi,

I am pretty new to Steemit and came to love it right away. I can't wait it to replace fb muahaha...anyways - I was reading this nice post over here https://steemit.com/life/@sauravrungta/the-3-people-you-absolutely-need-to-succeed-in-life and it reminded me of some amazing movies that were really touching. I agree about those 3 people you should have, I've never really had many people in my life, that I would look up to, so I looked for them in movies, preferably ones that are based on a true story.
I've seen quite a few and while some are pretty famous, some are maybe not that well known. I thought it would be a good thing to share, so I made a little summary. Of course, this is just my list, there is no such thing as best, but I hope you will find at least one movie, that will make you really happy you've read this post :)

p.s. I try not to spoil too much

(they are sorted randomly, I don't like to play favorites with movies)

True story:

Rush (2013) - this is a movie about a rivalry aka a some to chase. I know, it is what has perhaps pushed me the most in life and I find rivalry to be of the purest forms of love actually. This movie shows, how valuable a rival actually is.
The story is about Niki Lauda and James Hunt, two unbelievable formula 1 drivers, that is not only filmed stunningly well, but is also completely captivating, that even for me, who really has very little to no interest in formula racing, it was enthralling. I've seen this movie several times and really don't think I would be bored to watch it again.

Bhaag Milkha, Bhaag "Run Milkha Run" (2013)- this one perhaps less know, depicts a life story of Indian national champion and Olympic athlete Milkha Singh, who overcame so much hardship and tragedy, that most people cannot even imagine it. Not only he overcame it, he became a legend and earned respect from both India and Pakistan, that were in dispute at that time. Totally admirable, I think lots of other hardships are bit of a pussy's smoke if you don't count some war story movies.

127 Hours (2010) - This one tells a story of a cocky mountain climber Aron Ralston, who enjoyed adventure and solitude above all else. On day again he went for a typical Aron type adventure into the mountains, while not telling anyone about it. Little did he know, his life would change dramatically when he ended up trapped for 127 hours between "a rock and a hard place", so he would learn a harsh lesson on what really matters in life. *Very cool how he was filming most of it on a camcorder he always took with himself, it has some nice songs, great vibe while at times it really makes you cringe...I wonder, what would I have done in his situation? What would you?"

Rudy (1993) - I guess in US, this one is well known. It is about a die hard fan of Notre Dame college football team that dreamed to become a part of it, despite lacking basically everything including talent and physique to play, he works extremely hard to make his dream come true. I liked how the movie didn't give of "american dream vibe" but it was kid of true, un-exaggerated.

The Pursuit of Happyness (2006) - A story about a witty salesman Chris Gardner who ended up homeless with his 5 yr old son and had to struggle for a year to survive, ends up getting a chance to become a broker by impressing a big time manager of a stockbroking company by solving the Rubik's cube in front of him and using this opportunity to the maximum to to get his son and himself a decent life. Will Smith's emotional performance draws you in so well, you can just feel the struggle of a father trying to keep his face for his little son, while in complete despair.

Into the Wild (2007) - although, I think the movie isn't that epic, it conveys a valuable message that was hardly earned by a college student Christopher, who got just a bit too fed up with all the silly people in his life (and his life) and went on a journey to find peace and solitude only to learn more harsh, yet similar lesson like Aron in 127h. I've seen this movie when I was younger and had a bit similar mindset to Christopher, I think it kind of helped me snap out of some childish illusions about things at that time, good for anyone who believes he'd better off without other people.

The Blind Side (2009) - wasn't much of a football fan back then when i saw it, but that didn't matter much, this movie is just so awesome. Tells a story of Michael Oher an African-American orphan boy with good sports abilities, whose mother was a drug addict, which made him stay with different foster families through out young age. His life profoundly changed, after befriending a little white boy and becoming dear to that boys mom, later on becoming part of their family and becoming the first round pick of Baltimore Ravens as an OL in 2009 and winning the Super Bowl 2 years later. What I really like about this movie I guess, it's that it really tries to show the stuff that's underneath and goodness of people, it's really cute to see a large black dude calling a tiny white woman "mama" with such respect and humility, really sweet.

Intouchables (2011) - I really didn't want to watch this movie, despite all the recommendations. Something about a quadriplegic and a some cast out black guy, really didn't seem like something too intriguing. Well, I was very wrong, I think this is one of the, if not the funniest movie I've ever seen (and I mean quality humor not some stupid sh*t). Heartwarming, funny, uplifting. Just watch it.

A few more nice movies:

Pay It Forward (2000) - Haley Osment plays a sensitive boy that sees all the hurt around him and comes up with a pretty cool way of making a world a better place.

La Belle Verte (1996) - Shows absurdity of some human endeavors in a tragic-comic way as Mila an inhabitant of Green planet, where people are chill and happy is sent to Earth on a mission as a messenger.

Blue Butterfly (2004) - This one actually is also based on a true story of a terminally ill boy with brain cancer whose deepest wish is to see a blue Morpho butterfly in real-life, as it is said to be magical. The movie is maybe not A class, but it is really sweet.

Well, that's all for now, hope you enjoy it.

Sort:  

You missed out on 'The Grave of the Fireflies'. It is probably the most touching movie I have EVER seen. That movie made me cry and until that point I hadn't cried for 13 years. So yeah do watch it.

I think I've heard that name. I think it's pretty famous right? Anyways, thanks for the tip. I will check it out :)

Such a pitty, I forgot to put some pictures here and now I can't edit it anymore. Any ideas of what do do about it?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68564.93
ETH 3839.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67