What Happened to Monday (2017)

in #movies7 years ago

Hello!


I love various utopias, dystopia, social science fiction, so I could not pass by the movie What Happened to Monday, which was released by Netflix.


image source

Director: Tommy Wirkola
Cast: Noomi Rapace, Willem Dafoe, Glenn Close

image source
The plot is interesting. Future. The planet is overpopulated, there can only be one child in the family (they say it is a nod towards China). But it so happened that Terrence Settman (Willem Dafoe) daughter had twins. 7 twins. Terrence, without thinking twice, called each of the girls the day of the week. Accordingly, each of them can leave the house only in her day.

First I'll go through the secondary characters:

  • Willem Dafoe. I see him in the second film of Netflix, the first was Death Note. It seems that Defoe signed contracts for 5-minute roles in all Netflix films. He plays the role of a strict grandfather or even a father who will not stop at anything to give his granddaughters a chance to survive. Most of the time he does not even look like a relative, but a coach. Only once we see his moment of weakness.
  • Glenn Close. Her character is Nicolette Cayman, a candidate in parliament, captures attention immediately, as soon as appears on the screen. It is a pity that her character was not allowed to reveal herself and the ending with her participation was ruined. She was also shown 5-10minutes, strictly in the right places.

Well, and now about the main star of the whole film - Noomi Rapace. She played 7 different characters and that is a very difficult task, I believe. And when they were all sitting at the table, I actually saw 7 different women, but then by the middle of the film, Noomi Rapace was exhausted and I saw the same heroine, just with different hairstyles. Again she runs, shoots, fights, as in Unlocked, but in What Happened to Monday the fight scenes are much more interesting and I really worried about each twin.


источник фото

True, I still could not get rid of the questions, why they are not heard by neighbors, nobody calls to the police. Whatever.
The world of the future is revealed very little. We have to collect information bit by bit. The only thing that is known is that "extra" people are immersed in the suspended animation to wake them up when the world gets better. But, of course, everything is clear from the very first minutes when they tell us about it, so the finale does not strike to the depths of our hearts.
I liked the action, there is a lot of action. I liked the short inserts of Glenn Close and Willem Dafoe. I liked the story, if they would promote it to the series, it would be very cool.
Well, I impressed the young actress Clara Reed, who played twins.
In general, the film is not bad. I think it will not be a cult film because it doesn't give you food for thought.

Trailer

Ratings

IMDb 6,9

Sort:  

This was a great movie in my opinion.

I also had a ton of questions from this movie and also like dystopian films a lot!
I liked your analysis and think there should be a squeal just to answer the questions!

I hope they'll make a TV series to explain to us that Universe)

I must admit, I haven't given Netflix movies a change yet, I am a big fan of dystopian movies. I want more then action in a dystopian movie, I'll consider it.

I need an interesting story, good acting and an interesting universe. But there's too much action in this movie

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71