Solo aka Corellian Graffiti- Solo: A Star Wars Story story

in #movies6 years ago

We are only a few weeks away from the release of the Han Solo spin-off Star Wars movie and I, for one, am very excited. As a kid, I was always Han when the neighborhood kids and I played Star Wars, running around our township or the park or the woods. The wooden super-duper jungle gyms at two nearby schools portrayed Jabba the Hutt’s sail barge, the Ewoks Endor tree fortresses or some sore of Imperial Command Ship… plus, Han got the ladies and, let’s face it, when I was 8, I was a catch. I was just like a really long Han Solo. I loved the character SO much, in high school, I did a Super-8 movie (a really silly one), called Star Wartz, where I play a Han Solo type with my friend Jim playing the Chewie character (Imagine a really tall skinny kid in bad short nylon shorts and a crappy “wookie” mask… which was actually a bad Wolfman mask). He was tall so he got to play Chewbacca. There’s even a link to it below… Don’t laugh too much… I mean be too BLOWN away by the amazingingness of this fine film.

I’m excited to see what Ron Howard has done with the movie since the take over from the team of Chris Miller and Phil Lord who brought us amazingnessly, fun-awesomesque movies like The Lego Movie and the 21 Jump Street movie series. I enjoy their work but, hearing they were making Solo a comedy didn’t sit right. Who better than Ron Howard to come in and add his touch. I mean, Cripes, Opie Cunningham was THERE. He KNEW the real young Han Solo and watched him somewhat create that persona with Bob Falfa. When I heard Ron was taking over as the director of the Solo/Star Wars film, the first thing I thought, Corellian Graffiti (Han is Corellian, from the planet Corellia, hence the moniker). Solo is a street kid, a fan of cool ships, speed and the fast life. It will be a twist on American Graffiti… American Graffiti in Space… Within the Star Wars universe… Space Graffiti with the Empire. American Graffiti meets The Great Train Robbery meets Star Wars… Yes, please.

Solo-A-Star-Wars-Story-Poster-Cropped.jpg

I’m sold.

solo-a-star-wars-story.jpg

I like the choice of actor, Alden Ehrenreich as Young Han Solo. I enjoyed his work I the Coen Brothers film, Hail Caeser. People can crab all they want about other actors who look more like Harrison Ford, do a better impression of Harrison Ford, blah, blah, blah. I saw some folks doing their Ford impersonations and while they were good, they were just that… impersonations. I want to see an actor ACT like Solo… Not impersonating Harrison Ford DOING Han Solo. This is going to be a hit. I’m glad they are talking more young Han adventures as Alden is signed on to do three more films.

As far as the casting for Land Calrissian, I got nothing but praise for Donald Glover. Atlanta, the show he currently stars in is amazing and he’s amazing in it. His brief stint in Spiderman: Homecoming made the movie for me. His ability to act and perform so effortlessly is mind boggling. He’s perfect for the role and perfect to play the slick, hip and oh-so-sexy role Billy Dee Williams created (Billy Dee even tweeted how happy he was that Glover was playing a young version of him and how perfect it is). I can see no one else portraying Lando the way Glover does. I’m sure he’s going to knock it out of the park.

And have you heard his new song? “This is America”? And the video that goes along with it? He performed it on Saturday Night Live this past Saturday and it’s incredible… as is the video I linked below.

All in all, I think we are going to be in for a big surprise with this one. Ron Howard has proven himself as a director may times over and I think this is a great way to get him the recognition he deserves to be back in the lime light. His last few films didn’t perform so well. I like his films. I’m glad he’s working in the universe that made me want to make movies back when I was 6. Seeing the story of Han, Chewie, Lando and how Han won the Falcon… all of that great stuff we’ve all been wanting to see visually is now coming to life and in less than 3 weeks. I’m ready.

solo-a-star-wars-story-trailer-tall-A.jpg
Let’s just HOPE they don’t bring “Life Day” into this (You Star Wars nerds know what I’m talking about)



image
image @writesbackwards is a group of friends who love to write about life, sports, comedy, tech and other fun stuff!

Consider leaving a comment, we love rewarding engaging Steemians!

Sort:  

I hope you enjoy when you think about childhood I am glad your childhood was fantastic because you & your friends made environment like star wars which is my favourite movie all characters are superb I hope upcoming Star Wars will be great experience for me & thanks @writesbackwards for this great story article.

This is absolutely interesting andi always imagine how you come up with such an awesome blog, really @writesbackwards you are been so fabulous here boss..

Thank you for the great compliment, we are working hard to bring great content to Steemit.

You are just too original boss @writesbackwards.. You are very welcome ..

You know this is one of the movies I've been waiting for but time just seems to be to slow hen your waiting for something.

I wonder if there will still be Star Wars movie when I'm at the age of 40. It's like at least 10 years from now!

Learn a lot from this post... Star Wars always my favorite film...
Thanks dear @writesbackwards for this really great and entertaiting content ....❤☕😍

Wow, what a damn good post right here. Loving the detail and the passion. Great read. I'm super stoked for this one to come out as well and can't wait to take my kids! Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95