Arriving at the stranger land

in #moving6 years ago


For the past year since I joined Steem I’ve been focusing on my health and well being. I quit my job, packed my bags and moved back home to the countryside. I am glad I did it. Despite the pressure from some, I was supported to take a year off for myself. It is very easy to get stuck in a lifestyle of constantly looping, doing the same and slowly wasting away. I am aware it was a luxury many simply cannot afford. Taking a year off. Especially if you have a family and others depending upon you. I wish everyone could take time off as much as they need though.

Am I better now? Absolutely. Still not fully out of the woods and riddled by anxiety from time to time, but at least now I have some perspective and hope for the future. Still struggling with meaning of all this, but who doesn’t, right?

What’s the stranger land? For a while now I felt the need to move. In every meaning of the word imaginable. I however was having a difficulty with the decision of how, where and why. You probably noticed. In the past I handled things more spontaneously and carelessly. Maybe I grew out of it or began thinking more of where this whole life journey leads or what it means, or is all about. There are still more questions than answers, but it was time to move. So I hopped on the airplane and off I went to explore a new corner of the world. Northern Ireland.  







Song of the day: Lisa Gerrard - Space Weaver 

Sort:  

It's beautiful. ^^
hugs

Hi m31. That is pretty cool just hopping on a plane and going exploring. Would you have done this a year ago?

Hi cryptoandcoffee! :) Right before I took my year off I actually did that which also sort of led me here, hehe! So kind of ^^ In a way I love going places for some period of time and explore places for a longer time.

Welcome to the island 🌴
Enjoy the weather ;)

Ahaha! Weather's been nice for couple of days, but I expected it to rain a lot :D

The land of the rising inflections.

Great photos! I liked the second last one best.

Thank you @markkujantunen! ^^ It is a lovely spot, will be interesting to wander around, hike and stuff

Glad it is working as desired. We all need a little time to ourselves lest we go crazy

Thank you Empress :) Yea, it is needed sometimes

wonderful photos.. . i love them

Hi @m31!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.216 which ranks you at #788 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 6 places in the last three days (old rank 794).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 227 contributions, your post is ranked at #2. Congratulations!

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Nice, I've taken a year off too! Wait lemme say that again in the right way: I've taken a year off too.
Although I'm just a student. Skipped my finals of my final year.

Filled my time with learning a new language (Japanese) and a lot (a lot!) of subjects from Khan Academy's website (kinda ironical, after skipping my exams.)

I'm guessing you're going with the flow. But is there any one thing you're looking forward to doing?

PS: Saw your name suggested in the 'win a free SteemFest3 ticket' post, came by from there~

:O .. Ireland! Most envious...

I'm very happy for you. I haven't known you for long enough to know what happened that necessitated your move back home but it seems you're now ready to get back out there into the world... May the spirit of Lily the Hedgehog guide you ;)

I'm curious now, about the how, where and why ... How did you answer these questions?

Relating all this to myself...: I'm now in a place where I just want to stay still and establish myself. My childhood was full of moving (I attended 10 different schools) and after I left home, I moved many, many times before eventually getting to Brazil, so yes... Time to put down some roots =) ... Not so much in space, but with what I do... If I could just stabilise myself financially (preferably as an artist), I wouldn't mind moving around again at some point.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89