@davidpakman and many other guests on the Minnow Mayor Town Hall last night. Here's the recording.

in #mspwaves6 years ago (edited)

Well, I'm trying to get into the habit of posting videos immediately after making them. The Town Hall ran until Midnight and I was up until 1am trying to get the rest of the videos squared away. This is basically a daddy all nighter, but I think it's good to share what we talked about on the show with the overall Steem audience.

@davidpakman

I gotta tell you I like this guy. I found David to be charming, smart, quick witted, and seems like a passionate crypto enthusiast. Part of his journey is getting off of youtube because of demonitization of content that doesn't meet advertiser standards. Personally, I think youtube is specifically targetting non-mainstream lines of thinking and censoring them and then blaming it on advertisers, but that isn't new. I'm on Steem because facebook shadow banned my account 5 times after I had gotten it up to 2000+ followers over and over again.

Anyway, I think he's great, I think he's great for Steem, I think he'll bring an audience into the platform, and regardless of what you think about his politics I think he'll be a good advocate for the platform to his 400k subscribers.

Welcome to Steem David, and thanks for coming on mspwaves.

Lastly, David is planning on telling his audience about Steem and asking them to join. Please be on the lookout for that post today and let's reward it with upvotes, resteems, bit bots, and some fan fare.

@davidpakman on mspwaves

@em3 talks about bidbots on the platform

@rodeo670 won a 250SP delegation for coming on the show!

##@meno

@crimsonclad talks about being a witness

congrats to @jesse2you for winning the 25 steem!

Sort:  

To be fair... @crimsonclad I do not care... into the financial system. To be fair... most of the reasons I invest or care for crypto... if because of what it will become in 10 years. Right now... not a chance to think about profit.

All I care... is for the community to grow, being more healthy in terms of knowing about crypto...

EDIT: Also, I vote for recognized witnessing investors. So... for me, if you are not technical.. you are not a witness. Sorry.

Sounds like we totally agree on what makes a good witness, Forykw!
If you took away from the conversation that I was crying about profit, then I apologize, and I think on a second listen you might hear some things that tip you off that that's not really what our witness operates on. (hahah, one look at my or my partner's wallets will show you that! We give away and donate funds, and finance all sorts of community projects.) Aggroed and I talk quite frankly and have a lot of fun, so I can see how context would be muddled here.

My talking about PROFIT! is an acknowledgement of the dozens and dozens of new witnesses who flood in daily, because someone wrote an article about the ease of 'mining Steem' or whatever the wacky new story is. I'm saying that my partner and I got into this KNOWING that we would be donating time, money, services, and development to the platform with no promised returns and expectations of costs, and we were still not fully prepared for the amount of time it takes to do the job right and be beneficial to the ecosystem. It would be a disservice to hear the more and more accounts every day who say, "I want to start a witness!" who believe it is money falling from the sky, and pure profit, and not break down the real facts. Talking about the realities of the job is a good way to help others understand that they need to approach witnessing as an act of service to some degree.

There are a million other things I could be doing on Steem for profit, and witnessing isn't one of them. Community is a big sticking point for me too, which is why I volunteer and work on community building pretty much 12-16 hours a day, every day. I put my real life full time job to the side, I put my own posting career aside, and I focus on helping others network better, become better posters, and better understand this platform to help it grow. I've been recognized multiple times by bigger names on the platform with delegations and the like - unasked for - to support the work that we do. That means a lot, to see so many on Steemit who have the same beliefs as you and me, and a rising tide of encouragement for those who believe in Steem wholeheartedly.

I'm a designer and a web dev and a community builder. Whether that fits with your designation of technical, I don't really know, but I'm proud of the work my partner and I do around here on Steemit. If I had a lot of extra cash to invest, I absolutely would; because I don't, I dedicate more than full time hours, all of my skills and talents as a developer that I use to get paid offline, and genuine care and attention for others and donate them all here. Investors are absolutely what will grow this platform, so don't be sorry. However, I think investments and recognition come in more forms than just "I brought money to the platform" or "I paid someone to set up a server, so now I post five times a day begging for votes." We need all facets of investment. Sounds like you agree. I hope some day you'll look at the work we do with our Steemit tools, in Steemit Chat and in big growth Steemit Discord communities like MSP and Utopian, our big hearts and our little sleep as investments in the platform as well. And when my wallet does get big enough to get noticed, I'll still be there advocating for change for the better~

Geeee... I am in love ok!? +)

=)

Thank you for the dedication. Worth all of it!

Cheers

thank you for the frank response initially! I respect people who can disagree respectfully. If you heard it that way, I'm sure others did and wondered more too. Investment in the platform, and in each other, is the way forward as we build a new type of economy and new ways of appreciating each other~

Totaly agree on that. I envisioned a lot of what I see today (in terms of people fighting for good causes). Not trying to grab any feat here... but instead trying to say, that's why it feels SO Great (kind of proud actually) seeing people like you making the above standing. Although I did not predict the prices would be this high by now (otherwise I would be in a very different and peculiar situation, as probably many others... ), and I strived to find peace in trying to prove (to myself) that I need to ALWAYS translate time into monetary personal value, if I wish to go somewhere one day.

But in doing so (caring not for profit), back then, made me believe I had to play with blockchain/crypto differently, if it would be here to change my life. Which is what I WANT!

So from then, it was easy... LEARN LEARN and LEARN... and care less for the returns. Because those will be naturally returned by the fast-growing skills I am acquiring throughout being at the edge of the MOST AMAZING REVOLUTIONARY TECHNOLOGY in the economicó-social HUMAN XXI Century!

HOW AMAZING would be that?

I mean... my kids will one day see... "MY DAD saw this thing born! And he damns Lived it! And I can track his actions/history/efforts/etc!"...

I also speak for myself: I feel very fortunate for my parents' education. That, by itself, also showed me the need to include "Progress" as personal objective (staying useless makes me feel dead). I (and many of you) have this weird need to change something in the future... for everyone's good right? That is natural for human beings... We Want Better! Not just for us... That is a beautiful thing nature empowered us with - yes, humans are not just bad sometimes, we are also extraordinary!

Crypto leaders are NOT profit makers

Although the reality may actually seem the opposite... it is NOT deep inside every Leader. Just like some of what you said in the video (can't remember which one now). Some of these persons spent a great deal of their lives fighting for the cause... something priceless in terms of skills gain for the little and slowly growing career path, of a Leader.

I do appreciate everyone really making possible crypto, being those profit makers, developers, marketing people or simply late adopters. Everyone is the reason why this is working and is VALUABLE.

I like crypto because...

it CAN and WILL change EVERYONE's LIFE!

I have enjoyed writing this @crimsonclad. Thanks for teasing me up. Really appreciate it.

I enjoy watch David Pakman on Facebook, so glad to hear he's on Steemit now. I'll be watching for him here.

Hey It's really a great post and I do also welcome I'm on this platform and as you had said he have a great potential for steemit plateform ...... Its really a great post .

WHere are you based @aggroed?

North East, USA

Ahhh... right. Was confusing you for an emigrated Canadian... LOL. =) No offence... Canadians are great! And being Latin Portuguese... I love a lot of stuff... But you are awesome mate!... Keep it up.

Nice show... I need to bring more. Having a real full-time job... really takes my time off this platform, to be honest. I am trying to make my point of work... but the first thing people get... is PROFIT!!!... and that... really hurts... because we put so much work on this... really underpaid for most people skills... and then you get shmuck...

Anyways... keep it up.

Yeah, @em3 mentioned this sorta in his post last night. I was a bit confused, but it looked/sounded interesting. So, I will be checking these out for sure.

THX
(I thought it was Pac-Man lol)

Welcome to steemit, David and everyone else. I'll hit that play button in a minute. _

wow bro what a culminating post

and u got 4.35std fro myh upvote

congrtzzzz
thank's for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.66
ETH 3148.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84