Here's my next game plan: paying celebrities to go on mspwaves (and bring them to the platform)

in #mspwaves6 years ago

So, I have a proposal, but I want to see what the community thinks of it. Especially with the rise of the value of a SBD I'm in a new unique situation. I can conceivably start paying people to come on my mspwaves broadcast with me. By bringing a celebrity onto my show I think I can generate enough funds and interest to make some real money. By making real money I think I am in a position to bring some celebrities onto the show. Normally this kind of thing is a catch 22, but the sudden spike in SBD price makes it so it's an actual possibility.

The Good

Imagine if you start seeing celebrities joining Steem. These people could be pop, sports, science, art, film, music, stars of any and all kinds. Now imagine them holding up Steem signs, posting their rewards to their twitter followers and bringing droves of people to Steem. Lastly, imagine them buying some Steem!

The Bad

Imagine a horde of half brained twits joining the platform acting like they would on facebook and thinking they'll be heroes here. I think it's gonna get a little unruly here as the noobs start to pour in.

The Interesting

What if we can pull some really cool people to the platform!?! Where can this take us?

Bounties

When @meno brought @davidpakman on the Minnow Mayor Town Hall (my show that starts at 9pm EST on Sunday nights) I sent him $100 steem. I'm not quite sure what I'm willing to pay for any given speaker, but for people that can make whales intersted enough to give rewards such that I can pay the guest and have some spare for a bounty I'm not opposed to dropping a hundo for a referrer. So, let's see what you guys think about this plan. Then let's see if any of you know some celebrities ... I'm really just looking for anyone with an audience over 100k people on basically any platform. Then I'll pay them and pay you to help me bring them to Steem.

Is this is a good idea? Do you like it?

Leave some messages below, and thanks for your consideration.

Sort:  

Sounds very interesting to see how it would play out. I think you have a solid game plan. It will be a good thing to see how it could bring more people and popularity.

Maybe. It's risky for another reason -- steemit is still promoting itself as a beta project. It's in the logo. I also happen to find the rewards system confusing...not even sure I'm doing it right!

There's something to be said for slow growth. If the platform is viable, success will come - celebrities or no.

Hmmm.
I think you'll attract both the good and the bad. It would be a shame to see hoardes of FB morons and C list losers however I think eventually it's inevitable so probably best to try and frontrun it.
Please NO reality TV 'Stars'. The collective IQ would drop about 50pts overnight 😂

It's not a bad idea at all. It's already unruly around here with the bot accounts and the plagarism.

Yes, a bunch of twits. Who'll show up here sooner or later, if you prompt them or not.

IMO these twits will have a hard time understanding Steemit. So I feel the funds would be best used on instructional "advertisement" that entertains (titillates) as well as makes them feel not so stupid about themselves.

Did I just say that? huh.

It's certainly an interesting idea. I wonder about celebrities you suggested, maybe the average Hollywood star shouldn't be the focus, but influential thinkers and writers while large followings. More similar to the David Parkman. People like Tim Ferris( or pretty much anyone he's had on his podcast) I think those people would see more value in it!

Yes! I think you should look into a lot of instagram influencers especially.. You could even get a rough price estimate by looking at how much they charge for a post on their IG account... This can give you an idea of what they might expect you to pay them for some of their time... I'm sure if you reached out to a few hundred influencers via DM, you'd be able to get at least 5 who will be happy to jump on your show!

I agree. The other issue with main stream celebrities is if they bring an audience of 100k people, it won't roll over into profitability for the post or steem with views alone. People would have to sign up and post. What the conversion rate would look like for a given celebrity's fanbase is definitely a factor that would need to be considered.

I like it a LOT, the best way to grow steemit right there^

I've actually made a post about bringing stars to steemit.com as it will grow in popularity and it will bring more users to steemit.com
https://steemit.com/steemit/@greatvideos/steemit-com-growth-suggestion-reach-a-few-hollywood-stars-and-invite-them-to-use-steemit-com-55579590c8b26
Resteemed

have any plan on how to make it happen?

Only issue I see is if you are basing this on SBD being at such a large premium which may or may not last. .

Goood!! That is what Steemit is needing!!! I have said it too in another post, Steemit MUST gain visibility atracting famous people, sponsoring team sports and more!
Do it ASAP! You can count with our help, if any celebity comes to Steemit, we will give it all the support we can, sure

Hi, I like you post that is why i UPVOTE and FOLLOW you, Pls guys UPVOTE and FOLLOW me in return....Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60046.04
ETH 2997.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71