Magic: The Gathering Dominaria Bundle Unwrapping (10 Packs)

in #mtg6 years ago

Dominaria Bundle Unwrapping!

Dominaria package @iamredbar

I am pretty excited about this one, I haven’t done a lot of big pack unwrappings in a while. I love the artwork of this set.

One thing I have always been impressed on with Wizards of the Coast is their packaging for MTG products. Every single set bundle I have bought has been well put together and the prerelease boxes even have cool designs. I fanboy over high quality things, and I feel like MTG is a high quality thing. /rant

Dominaria box @iamredbar

The bundle (as you can see) comes with 10 packs in it and a pack of lands. It also comes with a die that has the set logo as the “20” side.

In this breakdown we are just gonna cover the rare cards out of the packs (and the foils, of course). The first two are lands, and the rest of them are pretty different. Make sure you check out the last one, it is going to be a new addition to my dragon deck!

10 packs @iamredbar


Rare lands

First cards we are going to look at are the rare lands I pulled, Clifftop Retreat and Woodland Cemetery.

Clifftop Retreat is a Red or White land and it enters tapped unless you control a Mountains or Plains. I don’t use that color combo very much, but a land like that is nice to have around in case I do want to try it sometime. Woodland Cemetery is a little better in my opinion, solely because a Black Green deck is a fun deck 😬 This enters tapped unless you control a Swamp or a Forest.

Clifftop retreat @iamredbar

Woodland Cemetery @iamredbar


Jaya’s Immolating Inferno

This is an interesting card. Keep in mind, Legendary sorceries can only be cast if you control a legendary creature or a planeswalker. With as many legendary creatures that Dominaria has in it, this card can be a very effective game ender in Standard or Commander play styles. If not only used to end games, it would be a great tool to destroy that crazy big thing the opponent has (or up to three!).

I did check the rules for this one, and you cannot target the same target more than once with this spell to do more damage. Bummer.

Jaya’s Immolating Inferno @iamredbar


Sylvan Awakening

I want this card as an ace-in-the-hole in every deck I have. Who would think, ‘Oh, he has an empty board, I bet he will hit me with a million creatures!’ No one. That’s who.

Now, if this card was added to an elemental creature deck, I feel like there could be some major damage done there.

Sylvan Awakening @iamredbar


Rite of Belzenlok

Saga enchantments are new to me, but not new to MTG. I still think they are pretty cool and I pulled a rare saga. I like the way that this card works and I am going to add it to a deck or two and test it out.

The first two turns you create two 0/1 cleric creatures (kind of like you are gathering people for a ceremony). On the third turn, you get a 6/6 flying and trample demon. The only catch with the demon is that you have to sacrifice a creature during your upkeep, or you lose 6 life.

Rite of Belzenlok @iamredbar


Naban, Dean of Iteration

This wizard would go well in your deck @tarotbyfergus. Naban in a commander could cause a turn to last quite a while if things trigger twice. This goes for dealing damage from an ability, creating a token creature from an ability, etc.

Naban, Dean of Iteration @iamredbar


Kamahl’s Druidic Vow

This is another legendary sorcery that can do some real damage. If you have the mana, this card could turn the entire tide of a match. For two forests and X, you look at X cards from the top of your library. You can put any number of lands or legendary creatures from among them onto the battlefield. This is almost like a cheap version of a fetch.

Kamahl’s Druidic Vow @iamredbar


Lich’s Mastery

@kommienezuspadt you would like this card 😂

I do not know of a good way myself to protect something like this, so I personally wouldn’t put this into my deck. But if anyone has any ideas about how to make a cool deck out of this, let me know :)

Lich’s Mastery @iamredbar


Teshar, Ancestor’s Apostle

This card affects historic spells. Historic spells are artifact spells, legendary spells, and sagas.

Whenever you cast a historic spell you return a converted mana cost 3 or less from your graveyard to the battlefield. That is a pretty cool bird.

Teshar, Ancestor’s Apostle @iamredbar


Foils

They are always so shiny so I have to put them in!

Foil Pardic Wanderer @iamredbar

Foil Corrosive Ooze @iamredbar


Darigaaz Reincarnated

Last but not least, I HAVE FOUND AN ADDITION TO MY DRAGON COMMANDER DECK! This dragon is badass. This is the only mythic rare card I pulled from the whole bundle. It isn’t even worth that much money currently, but it will do its part in my deck no matter how much it is worth.

Darigaaz will pretty much live forever. A few ways to get around his ability would be to exile it instead of destroying it. Or returning it to owners hand. Hmm... I will have to think about defenses...

Darigaaz Reincarnated @iamredbar


I hope you enjoyed this breakdown! If you did, make sure to follow me. Pretty regularly I post about MTG and other stuff.

@iamredbar

Sort:  

Having been defeated by two different Sagas, in two different games - Rite of Belzenlok being one of those, I can tell you that Sagas are crazy powerful cards that require your opponent either to take them out as quickly as possible or save up a removal spell for the giant creature some Sagas spawn as their last act. Pretty decent Rare pulls, nothing extraordinarily valuable - in money terms - but a lot of them will work great in a bunch of casual decks - or Cube, of course.

That’s exactly what I thought. Many useful cards but nothing of big value.

I really like the look of this set, so much so that I do plan to crack a box soon, when I can buy for the right price. Love those Saga cards, they remind me a little of the 'level' cards from ROE, except they are passive.

I have a few Dragons of Tarkir packs on my shelf that Ill be opening in the next few days. Ill post an article about them.

That is one of my favorite sets, even though I didn’t play MTG when that one was standard. I look forward to it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99