You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why You Don’t Need a Life Calling to be Successful (Or: The Frustrations of a Multipotentialite)

I started university as an engineering student, and left with a medieval studies degree. There's a lot to relate to in this post. I get asked a lot about why I left a lucrative field to study things nobody cares about or remembers, and I often can't come up with a good reason besides "I wanted to." As an educator I'm thankful I never stuck around very long in one single field. Kids aren't focused on one single thing, why should my range of abilities be limited to one area?

Sort:  

When I was a kid (middle school aged-ish), I was really into computer programming. My friend who carried it with him ended up being an early employee at Yelp and Twitter, and I'm sure he's very comfortable financially. When I tell people about that, at least 25% of the time I get a rude comment along the lines of, "bet you wish you stuck with that instead of what you chose to do!" (No, not really.)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69371.89
ETH 3768.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71