The City of Dreams | Bombay

in #mumbai6 years ago

e57035ab-7245-4dd1-93f8-a064c340775b.jpeg


"I found Bombay and opium, the drug and the city, the city of opium and the drug Bombay" - Jeet Thayil, Narcopolis

I haven't spoken about Bombay much because it means too much to me. It's the city that I love and hate at the same time.

This quote by Jeet Thayil in Narcopolis is one that describes the relationship perfectly. Also, if you're looking for a book on Bombay that's not Shantaram - this is a great one.


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

I've never been there. I'm curious about both your love and hate for the city, but I understand it's a sensitive subject eh ;-)

You have got to visit! Although, I often tell people that Bombay is not a city to visit but one to live in.

Haha, no you can definitely ask! I'm actually writing a long essay about it. But here's a little bit of it:

Bombay has a magic in its air that is irresistible. It's the city where I first smelt the scent of independence. Years later, it taught me how to live on a shoe string budget, save money and accept different lifestyles. It's the only city in India where I'll ever feel 100% safe returning home late at night. The people watch out for me.

At the same time, it's so ridiculously expensive for young adults. For all the talk about how 'free' it is for women to be in Bombay, it makes it extremely difficult for single women to find accommodation. It is crowded 24/7. My phone got stolen in a really full train. A bout of rain can stall the entire city.

It'll always be the city of my dreams, though. It's a perverse love that I feel for it.

This is a comment that does call for a longer essay... I'd love to read that.

It's somewhere in the making!

Jeet Thayil spoke at the embassy in Paris and read an excerpt from Narcopolis. I bought the audiobook, which he reads himself, and so enjoyed it. If you like, I can try to send you a copy; he has a great speaking voice, and you can listen while doing some other activity.

@kathleenscarboro I would LOVE that. He is one of my favourite authors and to listen to Narcopolis in his voice would be such a treat! If it's possible, you can send it to me at [email protected]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60826.65
ETH 2907.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54