You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Prioritizing the Public in Public History

in #museum6 years ago

This is a really poignant hole missing in these pieces, and I also see a lot of parallels between this post and @cheider's post about the 1892 art exhibit that dared to make itself accessible to those outside of the upper class.

We say we're in the field of public history but in a way we haven't moved further beyond the time when museums were largely private exhibitions meant for an exclusive few. We can talk a big game and make moves like decreasing admission or engaging in outreach but museums can't become truly accessible until this mindset changes and we prioritize our audience.

Sort:  

Yea, every time we read something by one of these consulting firms, I'm like, "But this isn't what I learned in school? Is this the field we're walking into?" It makes me feel super naive and youthfully ignorant, but I guess it's good that we're getting a firm grasp of how large and established institutions view their public.

I'm definitely headed over to read @cheider's thoughts now! Also, thank you for this glorious Michelle Buteau gif. My Steemit blog has been blessed :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69000.61
ETH 3825.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48