More mushrooms!

in #mushrooms5 years ago

I'll call these things Avocado mushrooms. Any guesses why...

IMG_20181102_084603503.jpg

Just a few days ago it looked like this:

IMG_20181102_084623731.jpg

Super weird, huh? It looks like a mushroom inside a mushroom, surrounded by clear goo. Then it bloomed into this:

IMG_20181102_084557856.jpg

Is that a thing? Do mushrooms blossom or give birth? Cause that's kinda what it looks like.

Mushrooms are weird...

Anyone know a mycologist on steem? We need that kind of thing.

Maybe I'll start learning and become an amateur mycologist. You know. For steem.

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

@nateonsteemit

Kind of looks like a stinkhorn. When it opens smell it and if ita putrid then its probaby that.

Judging by today, I'm gonna say you're right.

@nateonsteemit

Hah I once made a huge mistake of bringing one in my home before it opened. When it did I got it out of my house right away.

Yeah, it wasn't super pleasant lol

They smell like that to attract flies, which help it spread it's spores. The round "egg" from before it blooms is considered a delicacy in some places. It doesn't stink at that stage supposedly.

crazy how some plants produce a Carrion like smell to attract certain creatures.. Im always amazed by nature.

I love autumn for mushrooms and I can never get sick of peoples mushroom photos. That first one looks like a little man with a hat. You can see how people make cartoon drawings of mushroom people. They have so much character xx

Posted using Partiko Android

Hah! You're right, they do kinda look like little characters! I'd not thought of that.

Now you will be seeing little mushroom in everywhere haha xx

Posted using Partiko Android

@nateonsteemit great pics, thiers a couple of mycologists on steemit not sure if their still posting as ive had a couple months off. I've got a bit of an obsession with trying to grow my own mushrooms these days, such interesting organisms!

Yeah they are! I'm kinda obsessed with photographing all the mushrooms I see. A lot of my recent posts have included mushrooms or other fungi.

Remember any names of the mycologists? I'm about to go search the #mushrooms tag and see what I can find.

I don't remember names I'm afraid it been a while, but the tags #mycology and #mycelium spring to mind from memory when i went searching

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94