Sort:  

Love that you recognized 'round midnight without the melody! I am a huge fan of the standards.. I find jazz to be a little too frenetic at times - especially with guitar players like Joe Pass. Its something I feel I have to really pay attention to while listening. I really like Wes Montgomery - I find him to be very subtle.. much closer to what a horn would play.

I like to take bits and pieces of every style and carry it into the next song.. Jazz, blues, country, rock - they all end up fusing together and creating a style. I do like the free form of jazz - its the one musical style where you can never really be wrong.. I have about 20 standards that I play with.. 'round midnight just happens to in Eb which is what im trying to play with this week!

Cool, glad to hear that. Love that you freely take from bits and pieces of every style and fuse them together - I think that's kind of what a lot of my favorite musicians do - Julian Lage and Martin Miller come to mind. Wes Montgomery is great - love his Smoking at the Half Note album - I think that whole record is beautiful.

I'm mainly a jazz guitarist and educator myself so it's always nice to see anyone exploring jazz! Let me know if you ever have any questions on jazz that I might be able to help or answer.

Keep making music and videos! Thanks for replying. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63122.36
ETH 3072.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86