You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: THE TRUE STORY OF THE DEATH OF KURT COBAIN

in #music6 years ago

As an overweight boy that was awkward around girls and with few friends, Nirvana was everything to me. Kurt’s Insistence on being himself and not fitting in with society really spoke to me. He told me it was not only ok to be different, it was something to be celebrated.

My only friend and I were growing our hair out and were making plans to see them play in the UK that year. I’d never been so excited or felt part of something before. I was going to be surrounded by people like me. People who accepted that I wore iron maiden t shirts instead of the latest trendy gear.

When my friend told me Kurt had killed him self, it left a hole in my life. They were at their peak, they were huge rock stars and their music was changing everything. I honestly didn’t know what to do. Of course, I got over it and found other misfits to look up to, but I’ve never stopped wondering what could have been.

As an adult, I can see how tortured the man was and how it could only ever have ended one way. As a person who has lost friends to suicide, I finally understand that nobody could have saved him and mourn the loss of not only one of the greatest musicians, but a tormented human being who’s own personal hell I can’t even imagine.

Nirvana unplugged is still, after all this time, one of the most beautifully pieces of music I have ever heard and it still makes me tingle.

RIP Kurt, may you find the peace in the next life that so alluded you in this one.

Sort:  

brilliant post ,with a genuine personal touch cheers for sharing

Thanks for taking the time to read it 😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.54
ETH 3092.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87