Doing the Impossible: Setting up a Bass Rig - as a Woman!

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Hello Stemians!

4 years ago I started my journey as an assistant & manager for a very famous bass player called @snow.owl. In my introduction post you can find out how that happened:

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@bitcoinfused/introducing-the-bear-cave

As part of my job I had to learn how to set up a bass rig on stage and even do a soundcheck for my artist. 

Many hours of explanations have passed, building and taking apart pedal trains, following signals going in and out of effect pedals, trying out compressors, analysing frequencies, you name it... We did it all.

I'm nowhere close to fully understanding the mystical workings of frequencies but thanks to my curiosity and the outstanding explaining skills of @snow.owl I am now able to communicate with sound engineers.

In a concert situation, the most important part of my job is to make sure that the band sounds great! Unfortunately a bad sound engineer can ruin the sound of a fantastic band. Communication skills are needed in this case to make sure the engineer understands what is asked of him. 

Snow Owl's band has a very specific sound and due to the uncommon combination of instruments it can be very challenging to make each instrument stand out and at the same time blend with the entire band. I honestly consider this an art form!

So, every time we come to a stage, the first thing I do is finding the right placement for the band leader. Usually that is the center of the stage, with drums and piano setup close by, so the rhythm section can communicate (visually and sonically) well with each other.

The speaker and amplifier on top mark the center, roughly 1-1,5 meters in front I place the pedal board (this board deserve an entire post dedicated to itself...!). 

Now is the time to connect all the cables: electricity cable for the amp, speak-on cable to connect the amp to the speaker;

Jack cable (by Vovox!!!) from Basswitch DI (a must have for every bass player!) Line Out to the Input of the Amp;

To save time, the pedal board is set up in a way that all the connections are established and don't have to be touched or disassembled every time we set up or down! All that's left for me to do is getting the juice in there -> connecting to electricity!

The youngest member of "the family" is the iPad Pro, which has proven to be a great investment! No more printing of music charts that are likely to be blown off stage in an open air concert!

All charts and scores are stored safely in this device and can be opened and edited at any time. All you need is a page turner and you don't even have to touch that thing anymore. Makes performing a lot easier and more fun, I've heard! :-)

In some situations I had put the bass around my neck, connect it to the DI with the instrument cable and tuned it myself.

When all of this is done, it's time for the Maestro to come on stage and do the "fine tuning". 

A plastic bottle of water and a towel are prepared on top or next to the speaker.

From this point on I have my eyes focused on the artist to jump in/or on stage in case he needs anything.

I spend most of the performance at the FOH (Front of House) at the mixing console next to the sound engineer to make sure everything sounds how it should.

Towards the end of the show I go backstage again to be handed over the bass once the performance is over.

One of the best moments is when I observe the audience how they are drawn into the music, how their faces change, their bodies move to the grooves. These moments are priceless!

I am so grateful to have found my passion and to be able to live it every day! Thank you @snow.owl for this opportunity !

This is the first time that I have actually described and shared these tasks and I know that this is only possible here on Steemit! 😂

Thank you for taking the time to read through this, I hope this gave you a little insight! 😎


There’s always more honey in the cryptopot!

@bitcoinfused

https://steemit.com/story/@snow.owl/africa-days-vienna-report


Sort:  

I am so happy to have you onboard! You help me so much and make my life as a performer way easier thanks to your dedication!

Thank you so much! It is my honour to be part of the team!

Why do you have less reputation while your followers is wow.....i mean u recieve lots of upvotes your reputation should be up alot

Still building up! :)

Your post was manually selected and rewarded by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with the support of Curie. Latest Curator's Choice post: here. About IINC: here.

That's amazingly cool I'm glad to read about uh a way to Inspiration followed uh upvoted uh ready to hear more interesting things from uh hope I get a follow back and too some upvotes and can live as a steemit family

Done :-)
thanks for connecting !

Pleasure is mine thanks It would be great if u follow me back and help in this platform

Mere you have any steemit group there you can add me their so we can grow like a family over there

Awesome story. It's the people behind the scenes who really make things possible. Kudos to you!!!!

Thank you for your message!
It's all about the team! :)

Wow, you have a Talent!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you mers! It took me a while to understand, but it always fascinated me how these things work. I'm in for a lot more to learn :-)

That's a hell of a job! Looks extremely interesting and challenging!

thank you, yes it is, both interesting and challenging !! 😅

Congratulations @bitcoinfused! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Great job! The music is the universal language

Thank you deliaschmuck! Yes, it really is :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61663.08
ETH 2893.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48