Embracing, We Let Go (a collaboration with @yahialababidi)

in #music6 years ago

IMG_0419.JPG

Hey guys! I know, I've been radio silent, and they are so many other things I could (and probably should) tell you guys about, but instead, I wanted to let y'all know about this new collaboration I did with @yahialababidi.

He let me scour his catalog for a poem that really spoke to me that I could turn into a song, and, well, I settled on "Embracing, We Let Go."

I think I'll just let the poem speak for itself:

Perhaps, we are negotiating
not just with one, but always two
-who share the same soil, it is true-
one who lives, another who is dying

A shift in balance begins to take place
once a love of silence is confessed
its roots run deep, its shade a world
and her fruits impossible to forget

From the first, we surrender something
and, gradually, consent to be emptied
transfixed by so much soundless music
drunk and sated through lipless mouths

What use to name this silent master
preparing us for dying or the Divine
(I’m not sure there is a difference)
but know in embracing, we let go

Pretty dope, right?

Well, there's more! I just released the recorded version as a single! You can find it here or check your Spotify, iTunes, Apple Music, YouTube, Amazon, etc. in the next few days, and it'll be available to stream in those avenues!

Thanks for listening and God bless!

Sort:  

Brother, Caleb, you bring a passion & urgency to my words that makes them come alive!

Thank you, for lending your breath to this progect; it’s a real pleasure to collaborate ♥️

I couldn't agree more! This was such a neat idea!

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

I love this! You went in a totally different direction than I had expected from my read of the poem, and I really like it! Great driving rhythm and clear emotion in your vocals. And some really fun sounds in the instrumentation.

Thank you so much! Sorry I just saw this.

If you want, it's on Spotify and Apple Music if you want to add it to a playlist and, I dunno, Steemit (as a verb) to it.

Thank you again! I love @yahialababidi's work and I'm glad he afforded me the opportunity to try this.

Again, @caleblailmusik, it’s a pleasure to collab & I hope it reaches a wide audience.

That said, I will admit I was a tad uncomfortable to see it posted on Amazon with my name, as that was not something I was not asked about, first.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63175.14
ETH 3047.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63