Calella Rockfest Challenge. Booking a band with Steemit Upvotes: I have failed miserably!

in #music6 years ago


Logo 2018 transparent filet blanc.png

Some months ago, on May 2018, I started a personal challenge: try to book a band for Calella Rockfest 2018 with Steemit Upvotes. My first post was this:

https://steemit.com/@calisay/my-music-challenge-to-hire-a-band-with-steemit-upvotes-do-you-think-it-is-possible

In this post I tried to explain why I wanted to do this challenge and how I was going to do it.
Now I can say that I failed on the attempt. I'm far away from success but let me analyze some things that went wrong.

This was the initial point:

on the occasion of the 6th edition of the Calella Rockfest to be held on October 12 and 13, 2018 I have proposed myself a challenge: to raise $ 500 (in Steem and SBD) to cover the cost of one of the opening artists that will play at the festival. We still don’t know who it will be, we are working on hiring right now. Do you think that between now and October we will be able to raise that amount? I pose it as a challenge: can Steemit subsidize cultural events only with the votes of its members? I would like to prove that the answer is yes, in this way I am sure that if we succeed in this challenge, many other people will be encouraged to join the Steemit community to promote cultural events.

Some actions that I have thought to carry out:
To get curators voting on each post.
Put the logo of Steemit in the publicity of the festival in case of achieving the challenge.
Offer to Steemians the chance of putting a place inside the festival to promote Steemit.
Gifts of season tickets for the festival.
Festival merchandising gifts.
To demonstrate that all this has been carried out, during the festival we will ask the artist hired to promote Steemit either through a photo or a video.

  • First of all, when I read it again I see lot of grammar mistakes. During the first months in Steemit I didn't take care of grammar and vocabulary like I do now. I still have mistakes but have understood that it's very important being as accurate as you can be using english.

  • When I wrote the first post of the challenge, Steem price was at 3,27$

steemitpricemay.png
Source: Coin Market Cap

and Steem Dollars was at 2,60$

sbd.png
Source: Coin Market Cap

so it was easy to think in positive and have expectations around 7$ or 8$ per Steem/SBD. Actually SBD was at 7,55$ on June 6th. But with today's price (less than 1$) it's hard to arrive to my goal.

  • My purpose was to write at least one post per week. Since the first post they've passed 20 weeks. And I've written 13 posts for the challenge. Sincerely, I had lot of ideas but had no time to write them. I also ask my colleagues in the organization of the festival to also write some posts, but they only sent me a couple of them and in spanish so there was also a lot of work to translate it.

  • Some of the posts were curated by @illuminati-inc (thanks guys!). I'm really proud of this one talking about how bands go to the concerts:

https://steemit.com/music/@calisay/calella-rockfest-challenge-hiring-a-band-with-steemit-upvotes-post-5-how-musicians-go-to-the-concerts


Source: Pixabay

Also a couple of posts talking about Hospitality Riders:

https://steemit.com/music/@calisay/calella-rockfest-challenge-hiring-a-band-with-steemit-upvotes-post-1-hospitality-riders


https://steempeak.com/music/@calisay/calella-rockfest-challenge-hiring-a-band-with-steemit-upvotes-post-2-hospitality-riders-part-ii

Fresh Milk
Source: Pixabay

or even one called "for a bunch of eggs":

https://steemit.com/music/@calisay/calella-rockfest-challenge-booking-a-band-with-steemit-upvotes-post-8-for-a-bunch-of-eggs-english-version


Source: Pixabay

CONCLUSION:
I have failed miserably on my goal!!

What can I do from now on apart from flagellate me? I'm gonna use the SBD (20.46) and Steem (1.113) collected to Power Up. And when we start again with the preparation of Calella Rockfest 2019 I'll start from these earnings obtained from these posts. At this time I can't use 20.46 SBD and 1.113 Steem to do anything in the festival, so hope in one year it will be so different.

Anyway, thanks to all who have supported this challenge and remember, Calella Rockfest is going to be on October 12th and 13th. Rock on!

Post number SBD collected Steem collected USD $ value
Post#0 5.365 SBD 0.00 STEEM
Post#1 0.529 SBD 0.00 STEEM
Post#2 2.830 SBD 0.00 STEEM
Post#3 0.185 SBD 0.00 STEEM
Post#4 0.102 SBD 0.00 STEEM
Post#5 7.178 SBD 0.00 STEEM
Post#6 0.031 SBD 0.00 STEEM
Post#7 0.045 SBD 0.023 STEEM
Post#8 2.196 SBD 1.090 STEEM
Post#9 0.066 SBD 0.000 STEEM
Post#10 0.027 SBD 0.000 STEEM
Post#11 1.466 SBD 0.000 STEEM
Post#12 0.456 SBD 0.000 STEEM
Total 20.476 SBD 1.113 STEEM 21.030 USD
$ until target 478.970 USD

Sort:  

I've seen this too late in the day to help!! Maybe next year!! Anyway - you could educate your self about @steem-ambassador and #promo-steem - if you are considering putting the Steemit /Steem logo's at the front of a music festival - this would gain attention from the curators of promo-steem and would land you with some upvotes from the well delegated account of @Steem-ambassador. Here is a bit of information: https://steemit.com/promo-steem/@cryptocurator/how-to-reward-the-promoters-of-steemit-and-the-steem-blockchain

Thanks a lot! I'll check It for next edition of the festival! Cheers!

Hi Calisay :)

Hope you're doing great. It was a nice surprise to see you dropping around my post, so I've decided to do the same (isn't that the purpose of Steem uh?).

I remember that you told me about your challenge a few months ago. And it's quite funny (I'm sorry!) to see you (almost) apologise for your fail. (I also failed miserably with a couple of my challenges, so I know that feeling).

Surely you heard it many times, but as human beings we usually learn much more from our mistakes rather than our succes stories.

Just to point a few things (regarding steem):

-We imporve our level of english.
-We meet new people and make conections around the world.
-We make MONEY (passively and actively).
-We learn about disruptive tech (and consequently), we work towards a decentralized and fairest world.

Isn't that great?!

All the best! :) So glad to recover my old relationships from there. ^^

If you allow me the advice:

Instead of keeping your hard earned SBD and Steem in the form of 'savings', I would convert all into Steem Power and I would make a delegation into a project worth delegating. Personally I'm delegating into @Steem-ua and @smartsteem.

I'm not only supporting good communities, I'm also receiveng a passive income (That I'm also reivesting again into Steem Power).

Hold a stable coin above 1$ and/or in the (theorically) bottom of the market is a bad idea in my humble opinion.

Better convert into Steem and ride the next (hopefully upward) waves :)

I agree with you, having earnings in savings has no sense. I did it because it was what I first thouhg some months ago to show the earnings of Calella Rockfest challenge to all of you, but now I'm taking these earnings and I'll power up with it. I'm also thinking about delegating to good projects. I have checked @steem-ua and it's very interesting but I don't have a high reputation score. So I think I'm gonna delegate some Steem Power during one week to see what happens.

Moltes gràcies pels consells Ferran! Salut!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99